Program Coordinator

Jennifer Smith-Engle
Jennifer Smith-Engle

Jennifer Smith-Engle, Ph.D.

Program Coordinator and Professor of Environmental Science and Geology

Office: NRC 3502
Phone: 361-825-2436
Email: jennifer.smith-engle@tamucc.edu

    Curriculum Vitae

Coastal processes; coastal regulations and resource management; Late Pleistocene/Holocene coastal geology and geomorphology

Faculty

Hussain Abdulla
Hussain Abdulla

Hussain Abdulla, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor of Chemistry

Office: CS 211
Phone: 361-825-6050
Email: hussain.abdulla@tamucc.edu

    Curriculum Vitae

Focusing on four research areas of Organic Biogeochemistry: Environmental metabolomics; Fate of terrestrial dissolved organic matter; Effects of natural organic matter in the solubility of anthropogenic pollutants and Chemical characterization of trace metals organic ligands.

Mohamed Ahmed
Mohamed Ahmed

Mohamed Ahmed, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor of Geophysics

Office: NRC 3101
Phone: 361-825-3278
Email: mohamed.ahmed@tamucc.edu
Website: https://ahmedlab.tamucc.edu

    Curriculum Vitae

Applying geophysics, remote sensing, hydrogeology, modeling, and GIS to investigate a wide range of complex problems

Feri Billiot
Feri Billiot

Feri Billiot, Ph.D.

Graduate Chemistry Program Coordinator and Professor of Chemistry

Office: CS 207
Phone: 361-825-6067
Email: fereshteh.billiot@tamucc.edu

    Curriculum Vitae

Understanding chiral separations with amino acid based surfactants; distribution, fate and effect of endocrine disruptors in the environment

Darek Bogucki
Darek Bogucki

Darek Bogucki, Ph.D.

Associate Professor

Office: HRI 118
Phone: 361-825-2836
Email: darek.bogucki@tamucc.edu

    Curriculum Vitae

Small scale physical processes in the coastal ocean, including remote sensing, numerical methods in fluid dynamics, biological-physical interactions, sensors, and LIDAR

Gregory Buck
Gregory Buck

Gregory Buck, Ph.D.

Associate Professor, Assistant to Life Sciences Chair, Biomedical Sciences Program Coordinator

Office: TH 309D
Phone: 361-825-3717
Email: gregory.buck@tamucc.edu

    Curriculum Vitae

Molecular biology of prokaryotes; medical microbiology; virology; science education

Kirk Cammarata
Kirk Cammarata

Kirk Cammarata, Ph.D.

Associate Professor of Biology

Office: TH 338
Phone: 361-825-2468
Email: kirk.cammarata@tamucc.edu
Website: http://faculty.tamucc.edu/cammarat

    Curriculum Vitae

Physiology/biochemistry/molecular biology of seagrass stress responses to anthropogenic impacts; epiphyte dynamics and interactions with seagrasses

Richard Coffin
Richard Coffin

Richard Coffin, Ph.D.

Chair and Professor of Physical and Environmental Sciences

Office: NRC 3500
Phone: 361-825-2814
Email: richard.coffin@tamucc.edu
Website: http://icl.tamucc.edu

    Curriculum Vitae

Carbon isotope geochemistry to study biogeochemical cycles in the coastal ocean and estuaries.

Jeremy Conkle
Jeremy Conkle

Jeremy Conkle, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor of Chemistry

Office: HRI 104
Phone: 361-825-2862
Email: jeremy.conkle@tamucc.edu
Website: http://conklelab.tamucc.edu

    Curriculum Vitae

Fate, transport and health (ecosystem and human) impacts of pollutants, particularly emerging contaminants and marine plastics in coastal and marine environments.

Sharon Derrick
Sharon Derrick

Sharon Derrick, D-ABFA, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor and Forensics Coordinator

Office: TH 239
Phone: 361-825-3637
Email: sharon.derrick@tamucc.edu

    Curriculum Vitae

Joseph David Felix
Joseph David Felix

Joseph David Felix, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor of Environmental Chemistry

Office: NRC 3202
Phone: 361-825-4180
Email: joseph.felix@tamucc.edu
Website: http://felixlab.tamucc.edu

    Curriculum Vitae

Stable isotope biogeochemistry; Transport, fate, and air-sea-land exchange processes of volatile organic compounds and reactive nitrogen; Bulk and compound-specific stable isotope analysis method development

James Gibeaut
James Gibeaut

James Gibeaut, Ph.D.

Endowed Associate Research Professor

Office: HRI 215A
Phone: 361-825-2060
Email: james.gibeaut@tamucc.edu

    Curriculum Vitae

Coastal geology using topographic Lidar, remote sensing, GIS, and field surveys to measure and understand coastal change

Xinping Hu
Xinping Hu

Xinping Hu, Ph.D.

Associate Professor

Office: SL2 104
Phone: 361-825-3395
Email: xinping.hu@tamucc.edu
Website: http://hulab.tamucc.edu

    Curriculum Vitae

Oceanic carbon cycle; Ocean acidification; Sediment early diagenesis; Carbonate geochemistry; Stable isotope biogeochemistry

Patrick Larkin
Patrick Larkin

Patrick Larkin, Ph.D.

Associate Professor of Chemistry

Office: CS 203
Phone: 361-825-3258
Email: patrick.larkin@tamucc.edu

    Curriculum Vitae

Plant biochemistry and genetics; fate and metabolism of nutrients and toxins, diversity and dispersal, conservation.

Chuntao Liu
Chuntao Liu

Chuntao Liu, Ph.D.

Associate Professor of Atmospheric Sciences

Office: NRC 1109
Phone: 361-825-3845
Email: chuntao.liu@tamucc.edu

    Curriculum Vitae

Cherie McCollough
Cherie McCollough

Cherie McCollough, Ph.D.

Professor and Chair of Life Sciences

Office: TH 135
Phone: 361-825-3166
Email: cherie.mccollough@tamucc.edu
Website: https://DrCherieMc.com

    Curriculum Vitae

Science education; student retention; multicultural education; teacher mentoring and training; avian ecology and population biology

Richard Mclaughlin
Richard Mclaughlin

Richard Mclaughlin

HRI Chair and Professor

Office: HRI 311C
Phone: 361-825-2010
Email: richard.mclaughlin@tamucc.edu



Marine policy and law

Paul Montagna
Paul Montagna

Paul Montagna, Ph.D.

Endowed Chair for Ecosystems Studies and Modeling

Office: HRI 210A
Phone: 361-825-2040
Email: paul.montagna@tamucc.edu

    Curriculum Vitae

Ecosystem studies with a focus on benthic components, freshwater resources, water quality, ecosystem modeling, and environmental statistics; and integrating natural science with human dimensions research.

Riccardo Mozzachiodi
Riccardo Mozzachiodi

Riccardo Mozzachiodi, Ph.D.

Associate Professor of Neuroscience

Office: TH 335
Phone: 361-825-3634
Email: riccardo.mozzachiodi@tamucc.edu

    Curriculum Vitae

Neurobiology; biological basis of learning and memory; behavior

Dorina Murgulet
Dorina Murgulet

Dorina Murgulet, Ph.D.

CMSS Program Coordinator and Associate Professor of Hydrogeology

Office: NRC 3103
Phone: 361-825-2309
Email: dorina.murgulet@tamucc.edu
Website: http://artesian.tamucc.edu

    Curriculum Vitae

Physical and Contaminant Hydrogeology; Hydrology and Water Resources; Groundwater/surface water interactions; Coastal hydrogeology.

Jennifer Pollack
Jennifer Pollack

Jennifer Pollack, Ph.D.

Associate Professor of Marine Biology

Office: SL2 101
Phone: 361-825-2041
Email: jennifer.pollack@tamucc.edu
Website: http://pollacklab.tamucc.edu

    Curriculum Vitae

Field research experience in temperate salt marsh creeks, semi-arid estuaries, and polar regions

Brandi Reese
Brandi Reese

Brandi Reese, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor of Microbial Ecology

Office: SL1 105
Phone: 361-825-3022
Email: brandi.reese@tamucc.edu
Website: http://reeselab.tamucc.edu

    Curriculum Vitae

Microbial ecology, Geomicrobiology, Biogeochemistry, Molecular microbiology, Genetics, Transcriptomics, Marine deep subsurface biosphere

Toshiaki Shinoda
Toshiaki Shinoda

Toshiaki Shinoda, Ph.D.

Associate Professor of Atmospheric Sciences

Office: NRC 3509
Phone: 361-825-3636
Email: toshiaki.shinoda@tamucc.edu
Website: https://faculty.tamucc.edu/tshinoda

    Curriculum Vitae

Jim Silliman
Jim Silliman

Jim Silliman, Ph.D.

Associate Professor of Chemistry

Office: HRI 120
Phone: 361-825-3718
Email: james.silliman@tamucc.edu
Website: http://faculty.tamucc.edu/silliman

    Curriculum Vitae

Organic geochemistry: Climate and environmental change and Differences in organic geochemical practices

Michael Starek
Michael Starek

Michael Starek, Ph.D.

Associate Professor of Civil and Geospatial Engineering

Office: NRC 3407
Phone: 361-825-3978
Email: michael.starek@tamucc.edu
Website: http://mantisresearch.org

    Curriculum Vitae

Geospatial remote sensing and analytics, including LiDAR and UAV approaches, for study of natural and built systems with emphasis on coastal-environmental problem domains.

Greg Stunz
Greg Stunz

Greg Stunz, Ph.D.

Professor of Marine Biology and Endowed Chair for Fisheries and Ocean Health

Office: HRI 214A
Phone: 361-825-3254
Email: greg.stunz@tamucc.edu
Website: http://fisheries.tamucc.edu

    Curriculum Vitae

Marine biology, marine ecology, marine fisheries ecology, fisheries, estuarine ecology, environmental biology

Philippe Tissot
Philippe Tissot

Philippe Tissot, Ph.D.

Associate Research Professor

Office: NRC 2801
Phone: 361-825-3776
Email: philippe.tissot@tamucc.edu

    Curriculum Vitae

My main research interest is the application and development of machine learning based techniques

Michael Wetz
Michael Wetz

Michael Wetz, Ph.D.

Associate Professor of Marine Biology

Office: SL2 102
Phone: 361-825-2132
Email: michael.wetz@tamucc.edu

    Curriculum Vitae

Phytoplankton ecology, estuarine and coastal food webs and biogeochemical cycles, effects of climatic and anthropogenic change

Kim Withers
Kim Withers

Kim Withers, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor

Office: NRC 3205
Phone: 361-825-5907
Email: kim.withers@tamucc.edu

    Curriculum Vitae

Feiqin Xie
Feiqin Xie

Feiqin Xie, Ph.D.

Associate Professor of Atmospheric Sciences

Office: NRC 3507
Phone: 361-825-3229
Email: feiqin.xie@tamucc.edu

    Curriculum Vitae

David Yoskowitz
David Yoskowitz

David Yoskowitz

HRI Chair and Professor

Office: HRI 210B
Phone: 361-825-2966
Email: david.yoskowitz@tamucc.edu



Economics and ecosystem services

Lin Zhang
Lin Zhang

Lin Zhang, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor

Office: HRI 104
Phone: 361-825-2095
Email: lin.zhang@tamucc.edu
Website: http://zhanglab.tamucc.edu



Compound/Position Specific Carbon and Nitrogen Isotopic Analysis in Amino Acids and Application in Oceanography and Ecology. Stable Isotope Biogeochemistry of Greenhouse Gases in Alaskan Peatlands.

Paul Zimba
Paul Zimba

Paul Zimba, Ph.D.

Professor and Director of the Center for Coastal Studies

Office: NRC 3213
Phone: 361-825-2768
Email: paul.zimba@tamucc.edu
Website: http://ccs.tamucc.edu

    Curriculum Vitae

Phytoplankton ecology and harmful algal blooms