Fisheries and Mariculture Faculty

Program Coordinator

John Scarpa
John Scarpa

John Scarpa, Ph.D.

Associate Professor of Aquaculture

Office: TH 339
Phone: 361-825-2369
Email: john.scarpa@tamucc.edu

    Curriculum Vitae

Mariculture/Aquaculture of bivalves, crustaceans, microalgae and biomedical species (e.g., tunicates); oyster restoration and stock enhancement

Faculty

Chris Bird
Chris Bird

Chris Bird, Ph.D.

Associate Professor of Biology

Office: TH 234
Phone: 361-825-6024
Email: chris.bird@tamucc.edu

    Curriculum Vitae

Molecular Ecology, Evolution, Population Genetics, Marine Biology, Community Ecology, Fisheries Management, Invertebrate Zoology, Biotechnology

Donna Devlin

Donna Devlin, Ph.D.

Research Professor

Office: CS 106
Phone: 361-825-3935
Email: donna.devlin@tamucc.edu



Joe Fox
Joe Fox

Joe Fox, Ph.D.

Professor of Mariculture, Environmental Science, Coastal & Marine System Science

Office: NRC 3413
Phone: 361-825-3209
Email: joe.fox@tamucc.edu

    Curriculum Vitae

Aquatic animal nutrition, disease and physiology; nutritional ecology; crustacean biology

Simon Geist
Simon Geist

Simon Geist, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor

Office: TH 337
Phone: 361-825-4164
Email: simon.geist@tamucc.edu

    Curriculum Vitae

Early life history traits of fisheries resources: ecophysiology, ecology, recruitment-environment interactions

Derek Hogan
Derek Hogan

Derek Hogan, Ph.D.

Associate Professor

Office: TH 137
Phone: 361-825-5883
Email: james.hogan@tamucc.edu
Website: http://derekhoganresearch.wordpress.com

    Curriculum Vitae

Marine connectivity; larval dispersal; population ecology; population genetics

Paul Montagna
Paul Montagna

Paul Montagna, Ph.D.

Endowed Chair for Ecosystems Studies and Modeling

Office: HRI 210A
Phone: 361-825-2040
Email: paul.montagna@tamucc.edu

    Curriculum Vitae

Ecosystem studies with a focus on benthic components, freshwater resources, water quality, ecosystem modeling, and environmental statistics; and integrating natural science with human dimensions research.

Jennifer Pollack
Jennifer Pollack

Jennifer Pollack, Ph.D.

Associate Professor of Marine Biology

Office: SL2 101
Phone: 361-825-2041
Email: jennifer.pollack@tamucc.edu
Website: http://pollacklab.tamucc.edu

    Curriculum Vitae

Field research experience in temperate salt marsh creeks, semi-arid estuaries, and polar regions

David Portnoy
David Portnoy

David Portnoy, Ph.D.

Associate Professor of Marine Biology

Office: TH 138
Phone: 361-825-2859
Email: david.portnoy@tamucc.edu
Website: http://marinegenomicslab.tamucc.edu

    Curriculum Vitae

Conservation genetics of exploited marine fishes, historical patterns of zoogeography, systematics and evolution of bony fishes and elasmobranchs, patterns of sexual selection, conflict and speciation.

Ed Proffitt
Ed Proffitt

Ed Proffitt, Ph.D.

Professor of Life Sciences

Office: TH 139
Phone: 361-825-2358
Email: ed.proffitt@tamucc.edu
Website: https://edproffitt.wixsite.com/coastal-ecology



Ecology of estuarine and marine plants and invertebrates; ecological genetics; experimental design and biometry; applying multivariate statistics to address large-scale problems

Greg Stunz
Greg Stunz

Greg Stunz, Ph.D.

Professor of Marine Biology and Endowed Chair for Fisheries and Ocean Health

Office: HRI 214A
Phone: 361-825-3254
Email: greg.stunz@tamucc.edu
Website: http://fisheries.tamucc.edu

    Curriculum Vitae

Marine biology, marine ecology, marine fisheries ecology, fisheries, estuarine ecology, environmental biology

Benjamin Walther
Benjamin Walther

Benjamin Walther, Ph.D.

Associate Professor of Marine Biology

Office: SL1 102
Phone: 361-825-4168
Email: benjamin.walther@tamucc.edu
Website: http://sites.google.com/site/waltherfishlab

    Curriculum Vitae

Fish migration ecology; population connectivity; habitat use; food web dynamics; carbonate chemistry

Kim Withers
Kim Withers

Kim Withers, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor

Office: NRC 3205
Phone: 361-825-5907
Email: kim.withers@tamucc.edu

    Curriculum Vitae

Paul Zimba
Paul Zimba

Paul Zimba, Ph.D.

Professor and Director of the Center for Coastal Studies

Office: NRC 3213
Phone: 361-825-2768
Email: paul.zimba@tamucc.edu
Website: http://ccs.tamucc.edu

    Curriculum Vitae

Phytoplankton ecology and harmful algal blooms

Instructors, Visiting and Adjunct Faculty

James Tolan
James Tolan

James Tolan, Ph.D.

Adjunct Professor

Office: NRC 2501
Phone: 361-825-3247
Email: james.tolan@tpwd.texas.gov
Website: https://www.gulfbase.org/people/dr-james-tolan



Fisheries; Larval Fish Biology; Bay and Estuary Freshwater Inflows; Ecology; Fisheries Management; Population Biology; Ecological Indicators

Robert Vega
Robert Vega

Robert Vega, Ph.D.

Adjunct Professor

Office: Texas P & W
Phone: 361-939-7784
Email: Robert.Vega@tpwd.texas.gov



Mariculture; marine fish hatcheries; stock enhancement