Fisheries and Mariculture Faculty

Program Coordinator

John Scarpa
John Scarpa

John Scarpa, Ph.D.

Associate Professor of Aquaculture

Office: TH 339
Phone: 361-825-2369
Email: john.scarpa@tamucc.edu
Website: https://sci.tamucc.edu/departments/life-sciences/fisheries-and-mariculture/index.html

    Curriculum Vitae

Dr. Scarpa’s current research includes developing oyster mariculture.

Faculty

Chris Bird
Chris Bird

Chris Bird, Ph.D.

Associate Professor of Biology

Office: TH 234
Phone: 361-825-6024
Email: chris.bird@tamucc.edu

    Curriculum Vitae

I am broadly interested in using molecular genomics to advance our understanding of marine species

Donna Devlin

Donna Devlin, Ph.D.

Research Professor

Office: CS 106
Phone: 361-825-3935
Email: donna.devlin@tamucc.edu



Joe Fox
Joe Fox

Joe Fox, Ph.D.

Harte Research Institute Endowed Chair and Full Professor

Office: HRI 210B
Phone: 361-825-2463
Email: joe.fox@tamucc.edu

    Curriculum Vitae

Dr. Fox is heavily involved in research development with Marine Resource Development.

Simon Geist
Simon Geist

Simon Geist, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor

Office: TH 337
Phone: 361-825-4164
Email: simon.geist@tamucc.edu
Website: https://www.facebook.com/geistlarvallab

    Curriculum Vitae

Dr Simon Geist started the Early Life History Research lab in 2015.

Derek Hogan
Derek Hogan

Derek Hogan, Ph.D.

Associate Professor

Office: TH 137
Phone: 361-825-5883
Email: james.hogan@tamucc.edu
Website: https://derekhoganresearch.wordpress.com

    Curriculum Vitae

Dr. Hogan’s research is at the interface of population ecology and conservation biology

Chris Hollenbeck
Chris Hollenbeck

Chris Hollenbeck, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor

Office: TH 140
Phone: 361-825-6022
Email: christopher.hollenbeck@tamucc.edu



Dr. Hollenbecks research is focused on using modern genomics.

Paul Montagna
Paul Montagna

Paul Montagna, Ph.D.

Endowed Chair for Ecosystems Studies and Modeling

Office: HRI 210A
Phone: 361-825-2040
Email: paul.montagna@tamucc.edu
Website: https://www.harteresearchinstitute.org/people/paul-montagna

    Curriculum Vitae

Ecosystem studies with a focus on benthic components, freshwater resources, water quality, ecosystem modeling, and environmental statistics; and integrating natural science with human dimensions research.

Jennifer Pollack
Jennifer Pollack

Jennifer Pollack, Ph.D.

Associate Professor, Harte Research Institute Endowed Chair

Office: HRI 210A
Phone: 361-825-2041
Email: jennifer.pollack@tamucc.edu
Website: https://www.harteresearchinstitute.org/research/coastal-conservation-restoration

    Curriculum Vitae

In the Coastal Conservation and Restoration group, we provide science-based information.

David Portnoy
David Portnoy

David Portnoy, Ph.D.

Associate Professor and Ruth A. Campbell Professor of Marine Biology

Office: TH 138
Phone: 361-825-2859
Email: david.portnoy@tamucc.edu
Website: https://marinegenomicslab.tamucc.edu

    Curriculum Vitae

Dr. Portnoy is currently an Associate Professor in Marine Biology.

Ed Proffitt
Ed Proffitt

Ed Proffitt, Ph.D.

Full Professor of Life Sciences

Office: TH 139
Phone: 361-825-2358
Email: ed.proffitt@tamucc.edu
Website: https://edproffitt.wixsite.com/coastal-ecology



The Ed Proffitt & Donna Devlin Coastal Ecology and Genetics lab is focused on ecological consequences of global climate change.

Greg Stunz
Greg Stunz

Greg Stunz, Ph.D.

Professor of Marine Biology and Endowed Chair for Fisheries and Ocean Health

Office: HRI 311C
Phone: 361-825-3254
Email: greg.stunz@tamucc.edu
Website: http://fisheries.tamucc.edu

    Curriculum Vitae

Marine biology, marine ecology, marine fisheries ecology, fisheries, estuarine ecology, environmental biology

Benjamin Walther
Benjamin Walther

Benjamin Walther, Ph.D.

Associate Professor of Marine Biology

Office: TH 336
Phone: 361-825-4168
Email: benjamin.walther@tamucc.edu
Website: https://sites.google.com/site/waltherfishlab

    Curriculum Vitae

My lab studies fish migration, trophic interactions and ecosystem processes.

Kim Withers
Kim Withers

Kim Withers, Ph.D.

Associate Professor and Interim Director of Center for Coastal Studies

Office: NRC 3205
Phone: 361-825-5907
Email: kim.withers@tamucc.edu

    Curriculum Vitae

I have been at Texas A&M University -Corpus Christi for the last 26 years.

Paul Zimba
Paul Zimba

Paul Zimba, Ph.D.

Professor and Former Director of the Center for Coastal Studies

Office: NRC 3213
Phone: 361-825-2768
Email: paul.zimba@tamucc.edu
Website: https://ccs.tamucc.edu

    Curriculum Vitae

I have worked in aquatic ecology for over 30 years.

Instructors, Visiting and Adjunct Faculty

James Tolan
James Tolan

James Tolan, Ph.D.

Adjunct Professor

Office: NRC 2501
Phone: 361-825-3247
Email: james.tolan@tpwd.texas.gov
Website: https://www.gulfbase.org/people/dr-james-tolan



Fisheries; Larval Fish Biology; Bay and Estuary Freshwater Inflows; Ecology; Fisheries Management; Population Biology; Ecological Indicators