Faculty & Staff Directory

Administrators for the Department of Physical & Environmental Sciences


Photo of Richard CoffinRichard Coffin, Ph.D.
Department Chair and Professor
Office: NRC 3500
Phone: (361) 825-2814
richard.coffin@tamucc.edu

Carbon isotope geochemistry to study biogeochemical cycles in the coastal ocean and estuaries.
Photo of Barbara SzczerbinskaBarbara Szczerbinska, Ph.D.
Assistant to the Chair, Physics Program Coordinator & Professor
Office: NRC 3503
Phone: (361) 825-3916
barbara.szczerbinska@tamucc.edu


Neutrino Physics, Geoneutrinos, Dark Matter

Faculty in the Department of Physical & Environmental Sciences


Photo of Hussain Abdulla Hussain Abdulla, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor of Chemistry
Office: CS 211
Phone: (361) 825-6050
hussain.abdulla@tamucc.edu

Focusing on four research areas of Organic Biogeochemistry: Environmental metabolomics; Fate of terrestrial dissolved organic matter; Effects of natural organic matter in the solubility of anthropogenic pollutants and Chemical characterization of trace metals organic ligands.
Photo of Mohamed Ahmed Mohamed Ahmed, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor of Geophysics
Office: NRC 3101
Phone: (361) 825-3278
mohamed.ahmed@tamucc.edu

Applying geophysics, remote sensing, hydrogeology, modeling, and GIS to investigate a wide range of complex problems

Photo of Eugene Billiot Eugene Billiot, Ph.D.
Environmental Chemistry Program Coordinator and Professor
Office: CS 129
Phone: (361) 825-2680
eugene.billiot@tamucc.edu

Understanding chiral separations with amino acid based surfactants.
Photo of Feri Billiot Feri Billiot, Ph.D.
Professor of Chemistry
Office: CS 130D
Phone: (361) 825-6067
fereshteh.billiot@tamucc.edu

Understanding chiral separations with amino acid based surfactants; distribution, fate and effect of endocrine disruptors in the environment

Photo of Darek Bogucki Darek Bogucki, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
Office: HRI 118
Phone: (361) 825-2836
darek.bogucki@tamucc.edu

Small scale physical processes in the coastal ocean, including remote sensing, numerical methods in fluid dynamics, biological-physical interactions, sensors, and LIDAR
Photo of Timothy Causgrove Timothy Causgrove, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Chemistry
Office: CS 207
Phone: (361) 825-2399
tim.causgrove@tamucc.edu

Spectroscopic measurement of energy barriers to protein folding using novel initiation methods; molecular modeling of peptide structure and dynamics

Photo of Jeremy Conkle Jeremy Conkle, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor of Chemistry
Office: HRI 104
Phone: (361) 825-2862
jeremy.conkle@tamucc.edu

Fate, transport and health (ecosystem and human) impacts of pollutants, particularly emerging contaminants and marine plastics in coastal and marine environments.
Photo of Joseph David Felix Joseph David Felix, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor of Environmental Chemistry
Office: NRC 3202
Phone: (361) 825-4180
joseph.felix@tamucc.edu

Stable isotope biogeochemistry; Transport, fate, and air-sea-land exchange processes of volatile organic compounds and reactive nitrogen; Bulk and compound-specific stable isotope analysis method development

Photo of James Gibeaut James Gibeaut, Ph.D.
Endowed Associate Research Professor
Office: HRI 215A
Phone: (361) 825-2060
james.gibeaut@tamucc.edu

Coastal geology using topographic Lidar, remote sensing, GIS, and field surveys to measure and understand coastal change
Photo of Nicolas Holubowitch Nicolas Holubowitch, Ph.D.
Professional Assistant Professor
Office: CS 242
Phone: (361) 825-2987
nicolas.holubowitch@tamucc.edu

Electrochemistry, energy, and the environment; batteries and fuel cells; desalination; sensing of hazardous compounds

Photo of Xinping Hu Xinping Hu, Ph.D.
CMSS Program Coordinator and Associate Professor
Office: SL2 104
Phone: (361) 825-3395
xinping.hu@tamucc.edu

Oceanic carbon cycle; Ocean acidification; Sediment early diagenesis; Carbonate geochemistry; Stable isotope biogeochemistry
Photo of Patrick Larkin Patrick Larkin, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Chemistry
Office: CS 203
Phone: (361) 825-3258
patrick.larkin@tamucc.edu

Plant biochemistry and genetics; fate and metabolism of nutrients and toxins, diversity and dispersal, conservation.

Photo of Chuntao Liu Chuntao Liu, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Atmospheric Sciences
Office: NRC 1109
Phone: (361) 825-3845
chuntao.liu@tamucc.edu

Research area: Remote sensing of cloud, precipitation and severe weather.
Photo of Cesar Marquez Cesar Marquez, Ph.D.
Professional Assistant Professor
Office: CS 206
Phone: (361) 825-5701
cesar.marquez@tamucc.edu


Photo of Richard Mclaughlin Richard Mclaughlin
HRI Chair and Professor
Office: HRI 311C
Phone: (361) 825-2010
richard.mclaughlin@tamucc.edu

Marine policy and law
Photo of Paul Montagna Paul Montagna, Ph.D.
Endowed Chair for Ecosystems Studies and Modeling
Office: HRI 210A
Phone: (361) 825-2040
paul.montagna@tamucc.edu

Ecosystem studies with a focus on benthic components, freshwater resources, water quality, ecosystem modeling, and environmental statistics; and integrating natural science with human dimensions research.

Photo of Dorina Murgulet Dorina Murgulet, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Hydrogeology
Office: NRC 3103
Phone: (361) 825-2309
dorina.murgulet@tamucc.edu

Physical and Contaminant Hydrogeology; Hydrology and Water Resources; Groundwater/surface water interactions; Coastal hydrogeology.
Photo of Valeriu Murgulet Valeriu Murgulet, Ph.D.
Geology Program Coordinator and Professional Assistant Professor
Office: CS 205
Phone: (361) 825-6023
valeriu.murgulet@tamucc.edu


Photo of Narendra Narayana Narendra Narayana, Ph.D.
Visiting Assistant Professor in Biochemistry
Office: CS 208
Phone: (361) 825-3644
narendra.narayana@tamucc.edu

X-ray crystallography for structure determination of biological macromolecules
Photo of Jai Prakash Jai Prakash, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
Office: CS 210
Phone: (361) 825-3293
jai.prakash@tamucc.edu

Bioinorganic Chemistry, Organic Chemistry, Environmental and Green Chemistry, Spectroscopy, and Energy and Catalysis

Photo of Galina Reid Galina Reid, M.S.
Instructor of Physics and Physical Science
Office: NRC 1110
Phone: (361) 825-3685
galina.reid@tamucc.edu

Physical science education, learning and understanding the natural phenomena
Photo of Toshiaki Shinoda Toshiaki Shinoda, Ph.D.
Atmospheric Science Program Coordinator and Associate Professor of Atmospheric Science
Office: NRC 3509
Phone: (361) 825-3636
toshiaki.shinoda@tamucc.edu

Climate dynamics, Atmosphere-ocean interaction, Physical oceanography

Photo of Jim Silliman Jim Silliman, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Chemistry
Office: HRI 120
Phone: (361) 825-3718
james.silliman@tamucc.edu

Organic geochemistry: Climate and environmental change and Differences in organic geochemical practices
Photo of Jennifer Smith-Engle Jennifer Smith-Engle, Ph.D.
Professor of Environmental Science and Geology
Office: NRC 3502
Phone: (361) 825-2436
jennifer.smith-engle@tamucc.edu

Coastal processes; coastal regulations and resource management; Late Pleistocene/Holocene coastal geology and geomorphology

Photo of Jeffery Spirko Jeffery Spirko, Ph.D.
Professional Assistant Professor
Office: NRC 1111
Phone: (361) 825-6020
jeffery.spirko@tamucc.edu

Photo of Philippe Tissot Philippe Tissot, Ph.D.
Associate Research Professor
Office: NRC 2801
Phone: (361) 825-3776
philippe.tissot@tamucc.edu

My main research interest is the application and development of machine learning based techniques

Photo of Feiqin Xie Feiqin Xie, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Atmospheric Sciences
Office: NRC 3507
Phone: (361) 825-3229
feiqin.xie@tamucc.edu

My primary research interests are in atmospheric remote sensing and atmospheric dynamics.
Photo of David Yoskowitz David Yoskowitz
HRI Chair & Professor
Office: HRI 210B
Phone: (361) 825-2966
david.yoskowitz@tamucc.edu

Economics and ecosystem services

Photo of Lin Zhang Lin Zhang, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
Office: HRI 104
Phone: (361) 825-2095
lin.zhang@tamucc.edu

Compound/Position Specific Carbon and Nitrogen Isotopic Analysis in Amino Acids and Application in Oceanography and Ecology. Stable Isotope Biogeochemistry of Greenhouse Gases in Alaskan Peatlands.

Research Professors in the Department of Physical & Environmental Sciences


Photo of Vinay Kumar Vinay Kumar, Ph.D.
Assistant Research Scientist
Office: MB1 104
Phone: (361) 825-6225
vinay.kumar@tamucc.edu

Research Area: Weather and Climate modeling; Extreme rainfall events; Thunderstorms and Electricity.

Staff in the Department of Physical & Environmental Sciences


Photo of Ronnie Emanuel Ronnie Emanuel
Academic Advisor
ronnie.emanuel@tamucc.edu

Biology MS
Biomedical Sciences BS (Clinical Lab Studies)
Chemistry Minor, BS, MS
Fisheries & Mariculture MS
Marine Biology MS
Math Minor, BS, MS
Physics Minor, BS
Undecided S&E Students BS
Photo of Alessandra Garcia Alessandra Garcia
Senior Administrative Assistant
Office: NRC 3500
Phone: (361) 825-2814
alessandra.garcia@tamucc.edu


Photo of Michael Garcia Michael Garcia
Laboratory Coordinator I
Office: CS 129
Phone: (361) 825-2125
michael.garcia@tamucc.edu

Photo of Carol Haley Carol Haley
Laboratory Coordinator I
Office: CS 129
Phone: (361) 825-2959
carol.haley@tamucc.edu


Photo of Joseph Hill Joseph Hill
Laboratory Coordinator I
Office: Mod-1 108
joseph.hill@tamucc.edu

Photo of Nikolai Kraiouchkine Nikolai Kraiouchkine
Instrumentation Coordinator
Office: CS 220
Phone: (361) 825-3486
nikolai.kraiouchkine@tamucc.edu


Photo of Kari Nease Kari Nease
Administrative Assistant
Office: CS 130
Phone: (361) 825-2991
kari.nease@tamucc.edu

Photo of Paula Rose Paula Rose, Ph.D.
Associate Research Scientist
Office: NRC 3510
Phone: (361) 825-2710
paula.rose@tamucc.edu

Isotope biogeochemistry; marine biogeochemistry; sediment biogeochemistry

Photo of Martha Simcik Martha Simcik
Academic Advisor
martha.simcik@tamucc.edu

Coastal & Marine System Science MS, PhD
Computer Science Minor, BS, MS
Environmental Science MS
Photo of Mary Teter Mary Teter
Administrative Assistant
Office: NRC 3500
Phone: (361) 825-2681
mary.teter@tamucc.edu