Faculty & Staff Directory

Administrators for the Marine Biology Program


Photo of Jennifer PollackJennifer Pollack, Ph.D.
Associate Professor and Program Coordinator
Office: SL2 101
Phone: (361) 825-2041
jennifer.pollack@tamucc.edu

Field research experience in temperate salt marsh creeks, semi-arid estuaries, and polar regions

Faculty in the Marine Biology Program


Photo of Chris Bird Chris Bird, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Biology
Office: CS 246
Phone: (361) 825-6024
chris.bird@tamucc.edu

Molecular Ecology, Evolution, Population Genetics, Marine Biology, Community Ecology, Fisheries Management, Invertebrate Zoology, Biotechnology
Photo of Kirk Cammarata Kirk Cammarata, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Biology and Assistant to LSCI Chair
Office: EN 319B
Phone: (361) 825-2468
kirk.cammarata@tamucc.edu

Physiology/biochemistry/molecular biology of seagrass stress responses to anthropogenic impacts; epiphyte dynamics and interactions with seagrasses

Photo of Barnabas Daru Barnabas Daru, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor of Biology
Office: EN 319F
Phone: (361) 825-3489
barnabas.daru@tamucc.edu

My research focuses on how the evolutionary history of species - their phylogenetic relationships - can inform our understanding of the origin and distribution of biodiversity; and how this understanding can guide conservation decisions across local and regional scales. Key focal areas of my work include ecology, processes that underlie species assembly, species introductions and extinctions, global climate change, and conservation.
Photo of Joe Fox Joe Fox, Ph.D.
Professor of Mariculture, Environmental Science, Coastal & Marine System Science
Office: NRC 3413
Phone: (361) 825-3209
joe.fox@tamucc.edu

Aquatic animal nutrition; disease and physiology; nutritional ecology; crustacean biology

Photo of Simon Geist Simon Geist, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
Office: SL1 101
Phone: (361) 825-4164
simon.geist@tamucc.edu

Early life history traits of fisheries resources: ecophysiology, ecology, recruitment-environment interactions
Photo of Derek Hogan Derek Hogan, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
Office: HRI 102
Phone: (361) 825-5883
james.hogan@tamucc.edu

Marine connectivity; larval dispersal; population ecology; population genetics

Photo of Xinping Hu Xinping Hu, Ph.D.
CMSS Program Coordinator and Associate Professor
Office: SL2 104
Phone: (361) 825-3395
xinping.hu@tamucc.edu

Oceanic carbon cycle; Ocean acidification; Sediment early diagenesis; Carbonate geochemistry; Stable isotope biogeochemistry
Photo of Patrick Larkin Patrick Larkin, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Chemistry
Office: CS 203
Phone: (361) 825-3258
patrick.larkin@tamucc.edu

Plant biochemistry and genetics; fate and metabolism of nutrients and toxins, diversity and dispersal, conservation.

Photo of Paul Montagna Paul Montagna, Ph.D.
Endowed Chair for Ecosystems Studies and Modeling
Office: HRI 210A
Phone: (361) 825-2040
paul.montagna@tamucc.edu

Coastal ecology with emphasis on watersheds & estuaries; ecosystems with emphasis on water quality & benthos; modeling, statistics, & experimental design; ecoinformatics
Photo of Riccardo Mozzachiodi Riccardo Mozzachiodi, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Neuroscience
Office: EN 321
Phone: (361) 825-3634
riccardo.mozzachiodi@tamucc.edu

Neurobiology; biological basis of learning and memory; behavior

Photo of Christopher Patrick Christopher Patrick, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
Office: HRI 121
Phone: (361) 825-6022
christopher.patrick@tamucc.edu

Photo of Frank Pezold Frank Pezold, Ph.D.
Professor and Dean of the College
Office: CI 372
Phone: (361) 825-2349
frank.pezold@tamucc.edu

Fish diversity, systematics, ecology, and conservation

Photo of David Portnoy David Portnoy, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor of Marine Biology
Office: HRI 213A
Phone: (361) 825-2859
david.portnoy@tamucc.edu

Conservation genetics of exploited marine fishes, historical patterns of zoogeography, systematics and evolution of bony fishes and elasmobranchs, patterns of sexual selection, conflict and speciation.
Photo of Ed Proffitt Ed Proffitt, Ph.D.
Professor
Office: EN 310A
Phone: (361) 825-2358
ed.proffitt@tamucc.edu

Ecology of estuarine and marine plants and invertebrates; ecological genetics; experimental design and biometry; applying multivariate statistics to address large-scale problems

Photo of Brandi Reese Brandi Reese, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor of Microbial Ecology
Office: SL1 105
Phone: (361) 825-3022
brandi.reese@tamucc.edu

Microbial ecology, Geomicrobiology, Biogeochemistry, Molecular microbiology, Genetics, Transcriptomics, Marine deep subsurface biosphere
Photo of John Scarpa John Scarpa, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Aquaculture
Office: EN 319D
Phone: (361) 825-2369
john.scarpa@tamucc.edu

Mariculture/Aquaculture of bivalves, crustaceans, microalgae and biomedical species (e.g., tunicates); oyster restoration and stock enhancement

Photo of Frauke Seemann Frauke Seemann, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor of Marine Biomedical Science
Office: EN 314E
Phone: (361) 825-2683
frauke.seemann@tamucc.edu

Photo of Blair Sterba-Boatwright Blair Sterba-Boatwright, Ph.D.
Department Chair and Professor of Mathematics
Office: CI 312
Phone: (361) 825-2724
blair.sterbaboatwright@tamucc.edu

Applied statistics (particularly to ecological data), Bayesian statistics

Photo of Greg Stunz Greg Stunz, Ph.D.
Professor of Marine Biology and Endowed Chair for Fisheries and Ocean Health
Office: HRI 214A
Phone: (361) 825-3254
greg.stunz@tamucc.edu

Marine biology, marine ecology, marine fisheries ecology, fisheries, estuarine ecology, environmental biology
Photo of Jeffrey Turner Jeffrey Turner, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor of Marine Biology
Office: SL1 105
Phone: (361) 825-6206
jeffrey.turner@tamucc.edu

Microbial Ecology, Molecular Biology, Population Genetics, Evolution, Genomics, Metagenomics, connections between oceans and human health

Photo of Benjamin Walther Benjamin Walther, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
Office: SL1 102
Phone: (361) 825-4168
benjamin.walther@tamucc.edu

Fish migration ecology; population connectivity; habitat use; food web dynamics; carbonate chemistry
Photo of Michael Wetz Michael Wetz, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Marine Biology
Office: SL2 102
Phone: (361) 825-2132
michael.wetz@tamucc.edu

Phytoplankton ecology, estuarine and coastal food webs and biogeochemical cycles, effects of climatic and anthropogenic change

Photo of Kim Withers Kim Withers, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
Office: NRC 3205
Phone: (361) 825-5907
kim.withers@tamucc.edu

Tidal flat ecology; invertebrates & nekton of tidal flats & marshes; shorebird habitat use on tidal flats in Laguna Madre & Corpus Christi Bay; mangrove-associated faunas; seagrass ecology & invertebrate communities; impacts of succession on juvenile fish communities; fisheries resources in Texas & Mexico
Photo of Wei Xu Wei Xu, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor of Marine Biomedical Science
Office: EN 314F
Phone: (361) 825-2676
wei.xu@tamucc.edu


Photo of Lin Zhang Lin Zhang, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
Office: HRI 104
Phone: (361) 825-2095
lin.zhang@tamucc.edu

Compound/Position Specific Carbon and Nitrogen Isotopic Analysis in Amino Acids and Application in Oceanography and Ecology. Stable Isotope Biogeochemistry of Greenhouse Gases in Alaskan Peatlands.
Photo of Paul Zimba Paul Zimba, Ph.D.
Professor and Director of the Center for Coastal Studies
Office: NRC 3213
Phone: (361) 825-2768
paul.zimba@tamucc.edu

Phytoplankton ecology and harmful algal blooms

Research Professors in the Marine Biology Program


Photo of Donna Devlin Donna Devlin, Ph.D.
Research Professor
Office: CS 106
Phone: (361) 825-3935
donna.devlin@tamucc.edu