Faculty & Staff Directory

Administrators for the Department of Life Sciences


Photo of Ed ProffittEd Proffitt, Ph.D.
Professor and Chair
Office: EN 319
Phone: (361) 825-2358
ed.proffitt@tamucc.edu

Ecology of estuarine and marine plants and invertebrates; ecological genetics; experimental design and biometry; applying multivariate statistics to address large-scale problems

Faculty in the Department of Life Sciences


Photo of Chris Bird Chris Bird, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor of Biology
Office: CS 246
Phone: (361) 825-6024
chris.bird@tamucc.edu

Molecular Ecology, Evolution, Population Genetics, Marine Biology, Community Ecology, Fisheries Management, Invertebrate Zoology, Biotechnology
Photo of Gregory Buck Gregory Buck, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
Office: CS 251
Phone: (361) 825-3717
gregory.buck@tamucc.edu

Molecular biology of prokaryotes; medical microbiology; virology; science education

Photo of Kirk Cammarata Kirk Cammarata, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Biology
Office: EN 319B
Phone: (361) 825-2468
kirk.cammarata@tamucc.edu

Physiology/biochemistry/molecular biology of seagrass stress responses to anthropogenic impacts; epiphyte dynamics and interactions with seagrasses
Photo of Suzzette Chopin Suzzette Chopin, Ph.D.
Professor Emerita of Biomedical Sciences
suzzette.chopin@tamucc.edu

Health equity through community based participatory research

Photo of Stella Doyungan Stella Doyungan, Ph.D.
Professional Assistant Professor
Office: EN 308
Phone: (361) 825-3686
stella.doyungan@tamucc.edu

Microbiology
Photo of Joe Fox Joe Fox, Ph.D.
Professor of Mariculture, Environmental Science, Coastal & Marine System Science
Office: NRC 3413
Phone: (361) 825-3209
joe.fox@tamucc.edu

Aquatic animal nutrition, disease and physiology; nutritional ecology; crustacean biology

Photo of Simon Geist Simon Geist, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
Office: SL1 101
Phone: (361) 825-4164
simon.geist@tamucc.edu

Early life history traits of fisheries resources: ecophysiology, ecology, recruitment-environment interactions
Photo of Christine Gerin Christine Gerin, Ph.D.
Professional Assistant Professor
Office: EN 319F
Phone: (361) 825-3489
christine.gerin@tamucc.edu


Photo of Xavier Fonz Gonzales Xavier Fonz Gonzales, Ph.D., M.S.P.H.
Professional Assistant Professor of Biomedical Sciences
JAMP Faculty Director
Office: EN 310C
Phone: (361) 825-3824
xavier.gonzales@tamucc.edu

Immunology; Oncology; Endocrinology; Microbial Pathogenesis; Clinical Microbiology; Microbial Ecology; Genetics; Stress and psychological disorders on disease development
Photo of Derek Hogan Derek Hogan, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
Office: HRI 102
Phone: (361) 825-5883
james.hogan@tamucc.edu

Marine connectivity; larval dispersal; population ecology; population genetics

Photo of Cherie McCollough Cherie McCollough, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
Office: EN 310A
Phone: (361) 825-3166
cherie.mccollough@tamucc.edu

Science education; student retention; multicultural education; teacher mentoring and training; avian ecology and population biology
Photo of David McKee David McKee, Ph.D.
Professor Emeritus
Office: EN 314F
Phone: (361) 825-2676
david.mckee@tamucc.edu

Marine ecology; ichthyology, fisheries, mariculture

Photo of Judy Metcalf Judy Metcalf, Ph.D.
Professional Assistant Professor
Office: EN 314E
Phone: (361) 825-3959
judy.metcalf@tamucc.edu

Photo of Fabio Moretzsohn Fabio Moretzsohn, Ph.D.
Professional Assistant Professor
Office: EN 311
Phone: (361) 825-3477
fabio.moretzsohn@tamucc.edu

Marine biology, ecology, invertebrate zoology, biodiversity and conservation, molluscan biology, taxonomy, taxonomic databases, deep-sea, and citizen scientist projects.

Photo of David Moury David Moury, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Biology
Office: EN 314C
Phone: (361) 825-3259
david.moury@tamucc.edu

Functional anatomy; developmental biology and embryology; histology; microtechniques
Photo of Riccardo Mozzachiodi Riccardo Mozzachiodi, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Neuroscience
Office: EN 321
Phone: (361) 825-3634
riccardo.mozzachiodi@tamucc.edu

Neurobiology; biological basis of learning and memory; behavior

Photo of Terri Nicolau Terri Nicolau, M.S.
Visiting Instructor of Biology
Office: EN 310B
Phone: (361) 825-2166
terri.nicolau@tamucc.edu

Photo of Felix Omoruyi Felix Omoruyi, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Clinical Laboratory Science
Office: CS 130B
Phone: (361) 825-2473
felix.omoruyi@tamucc.edu

Currently, research in my laboratory is centered on the biochemical changes in the red blood cell membrane and serum in fairly and poorly controlled diabetic patients relative to healthy control.

Photo of Christopher Patrick Christopher Patrick, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
Office: HRI 121
Phone: (361) 825-6022
christopher.patrick@tamucc.edu

Photo of Frank Pezold Frank Pezold, Ph.D.
Professor and Dean of the College
Office: CI 372
Phone: (361) 825-2349
frank.pezold@tamucc.edu

Fish diversity, systematics, ecology and conservation

Photo of Jennifer Pollack Jennifer Pollack, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
Office: SL2 101
Phone: (361) 825-2041
jennifer.pollack@tamucc.edu

Field research experience in temperate salt marsh creeks, semi-arid estuaries, and polar regions
Photo of David Portnoy David Portnoy, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor of Marine Biology
Office: HRI 213A
Phone: (361) 825-2859
david.portnoy@tamucc.edu

Conservation genetics of exploited marine fishes, historical patterns of zoogeography, systematics and evolution of bony fishes and elasmobranchs, patterns of sexual selection, conflict and speciation.

Photo of Brandi Reese Brandi Reese, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor of Microbial Ecology
Office: SL1 105
Phone: (361) 825-3022
brandi.reese@tamucc.edu

Microbial ecology, Geomicrobiology, Biogeochemistry, Molecular microbiology, Genetics, Transcriptomics, Marine deep subsurface biosphere
Photo of John Scarpa John Scarpa, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Aquaculture
Office: EN 319D
Phone: (361) 825-2369
john.scarpa@tamucc.edu

Mariculture/Aquaculture of bivalves, crustaceans, microalgae and biomedical species (e.g., tunicates); oyster restoration and stock enhancement

Photo of Anthony Siccardi Anthony Siccardi, Ph.D.
Professional Assistant Professor of Fisheries & Mariculture
Office: EN 319
Phone: (361) 825-2754
anthony.siccardi@tamucc.edu

Microalgae and macroalgae production for biofuel and bioproducts; Aquaculture/mariculture of fish and crustaceans; Aquatic nutrition; Zebrafish
Photo of Lee Smee Lee Smee, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
Office: CS 250
Phone: (361) 825-3637
lee.smee@tamucc.edu

Ecology; animal behavior; chemical signaling in aquatic systems; marine biology

Photo of Jean Sparks Jean Sparks, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
Director of Clinical Laboratory Science
Office: CS 130G
Phone: (361) 825-2359
jean.sparks@tamucc.edu

Clinical laboratory science; hematology; botany
Photo of Greg Stunz Greg Stunz, Ph.D.
Professor of Marine Biology and Endowed Chair for Fisheries and Ocean Health
Office: HRI 214A
Phone: (361) 825-3254
greg.stunz@tamucc.edu

Marine biology, marine ecology, marine fisheries ecology, fisheries, estuarine ecology, environmental biology

Photo of Wes Tunnell Wes Tunnell, Ph.D.
Professor Emeritus
Office: HRI 318C
Phone: (361) 825-2055
wes.tunnell@tamucc.edu

Coral reef and coastal ecology; molluscan systematics distribution, and ecology; Gulf of Mexico biodiversity; oil spill impacts to marine environments
Photo of Jeffrey Turner Jeffrey Turner, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor of Marine Biology
Office: SL1 105
Phone: (361) 825-6206
jeffrey.turner@tamucc.edu

Microbial Ecology, Molecular Biology, Population Genetics, Evolution, Genomics, Metagenomics, connections between oceans and human health

Photo of Benjamin Walther Benjamin Walther, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
Office: SL1 102
Phone: (361) 825-4168
benjamin.walther@tamucc.edu

Fish migration ecology; population connectivity; habitat use; food web dynamics; carbonate chemistry
Photo of Michael Wetz Michael Wetz, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Marine Biology
Office: SL2 102
Phone: (361) 825-2132
michael.wetz@tamucc.edu

Phytoplankton ecology, estuarine and coastal food webs and biogeochemical cycles, effects of climatic and anthropogenic change

Photo of Kim Withers Kim Withers, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
Office: NRC 3205
Phone: (361) 825-5907
kim.withers@tamucc.edu

Photo of Paul Zimba Paul Zimba, Ph.D.
Professor and Director of the Center for Coastal Studies
Office: NRC 3213
Phone: (361) 825-2768
paul.zimba@tamucc.edu

Phytoplankton ecology and harmful algal blooms

Adjunct Faculty in the Department of Life Sciences


Photo of Robert Vega Robert Vega, Ph.D.
Adjunct Professor
Office: Texas Parks and
Phone: (361) 939-7784
robert.vega@tpwd.state.tx.us

Finfish culture (red drum, spotted seatrout, southern flounder); stock enhancement

Staff in the Department of Life Sciences


Photo of Ken Brown Ken Brown
Senior Administrative Assistant
Office: EN 319C
Phone: (361) 825-3907
kenneth.brown@tamucc.edu

Photo of Geri Fernandez Geri Fernandez
Administrative Assistant
Office: EN 319
Phone: (361) 825-2754
geri.fernandez@tamucc.edu


Photo of Jessica Han Jessica Han
Laboratory Coordinator
Office: CS 253
Phone: (361) 825-3628
jessica.han@tamucc.edu

Photo of Philip Jose Philip Jose
Laboratory Coordinator
Office: CS 243
Phone: (361) 825-5757
philip.jose@tamucc.edu


Photo of Githzette Planas Githzette Planas
Laboratory Coordinator
Office: CS 253
Phone: (361) 825-2891
githzette.planas@tamucc.edu

Photo of Patricia Rodriguez Patricia Rodriguez
Administrative Assistant
Office: HRI 122
Phone: (361) 825-2005
patricia.rodriguez@tamucc.edu