Faculty & Staff Directory

Administrators for the Department of Life Sciences


Photo of Cherie McColloughCherie McCollough, Ph.D.
Professor and Chair
Office: TH 135
Phone: (361) 825-3166
cherie.mccollough@tamucc.edu

Science education; student retention; multicultural education; teacher mentoring and training; avian ecology and population biology
Photo of Gregory BuckGregory Buck, Ph.D.
Associate Professor and Assistant to Chair
Office: TH 236
Phone: (361) 825-3717
gregory.buck@tamucc.edu


Molecular biology of prokaryotes; medical microbiology; virology; science education

Faculty in the Department of Life Sciences


Photo of Keisha Bahr Keisha Bahr, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor of Biology
Office: TH 242
Phone: (361) 825-3707
keisha.bahr@tamucc.edu

Photo of Chris Bird Chris Bird, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Biology
Office: TH 234
Phone: (361) 825-6024
chris.bird@tamucc.edu

Molecular Ecology, Evolution, Population Genetics, Marine Biology, Community Ecology, Fisheries Management, Invertebrate Zoology, Biotechnology

Photo of Kirk Cammarata Kirk Cammarata, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Biology and Assistant to LSCI Chair
Office: TH 338
Phone: (361) 825-2468
kirk.cammarata@tamucc.edu

Physiology/biochemistry/molecular biology of seagrass stress responses to anthropogenic impacts; epiphyte dynamics and interactions with seagrasses
Photo of Suzzette Chopin Suzzette Chopin, Ph.D.
Professor Emerita of Biomedical Sciences
suzzette.chopin@tamucc.edu

Health equity through community based participatory research

Photo of Barnabas Daru Barnabas Daru, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor of Biology
Office: TH 141
Phone: (361) 825-3489
barnabas.daru@tamucc.edu

Evolutionary biogeography, herbarium records, phylogeny, phyloregions, vascular plants
Photo of Sharon Derrick, D-ABFA Sharon Derrick, D-ABFA, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor and Forensics Coordinator
Office: TH 239
Phone: (361) 825-3637
sharon.derrick@tamucc.edu

Forensic personal identification from the skeleton and bone trauma analysis.

Photo of Stella Doyungan Stella Doyungan, Ph.D.
Professional Associate Professor
Office: TH 232
Phone: (361) 825-3686
stella.doyungan@tamucc.edu

Microbiology
Photo of Joe Fox Joe Fox, Ph.D.
Professor of Mariculture, Environmental Science, Coastal & Marine System Science
Office: HRI 210B
Phone: (361) 825-3209
joe.fox@tamucc.edu

Aquatic animal nutrition, disease and physiology; nutritional ecology; crustacean biology

Photo of Simon Geist Simon Geist, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
Office: TH 337
Phone: (361) 825-4164
simon.geist@tamucc.edu

Early life history traits of fisheries resources: ecophysiology, ecology, recruitment-environment interactions
Photo of Xavier Fonz Gonzales Xavier Fonz Gonzales, Ph.D., M.S.P.H.
Professional Assistant Professor of Biomedical Sciences
JAMP Faculty Director
Office: TH 235
Phone: (361) 825-3824
xavier.gonzales@tamucc.edu

Immunology; Oncology; Endocrinology; Microbial Pathogenesis; Clinical Microbiology; Microbial Ecology; Genetics; Stress and psychological disorders on disease development

Photo of Derek Hogan Derek Hogan, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
Office: TH 137
Phone: (361) 825-5883
james.hogan@tamucc.edu

Marine connectivity; larval dispersal; population ecology; population genetics
Photo of Ivy Jones Ivy Jones, Ph.D.
Professional Assistant Professor
Office: TH 133
Phone: (361) 825-3259
ivy.jones@tamucc.edu


Photo of David McKee David McKee, Ph.D.
Professor Emeritus
Office: RFEB 314F
Phone: (361) 825-2676
david.mckee@tamucc.edu

Marine ecology; ichthyology, fisheries, mariculture
Photo of Judy Metcalf Judy Metcalf, Ph.D.
Professional Assistant Professor
Office: RFEB 309
Phone: (361) 825-3959
judy.metcalf@tamucc.edu


Photo of Fabio Moretzsohn Fabio Moretzsohn, Ph.D.
Professional Assistant Professor
Office: TH 333
Phone: (361) 825-3477
fabio.moretzsohn@tamucc.edu

Marine biology, ecology, invertebrate zoology, biodiversity and conservation, molluscan biology, taxonomy, taxonomic databases, deep-sea, and citizen scientist projects.
Photo of Riccardo Mozzachiodi Riccardo Mozzachiodi, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Neuroscience
Office: TH 335
Phone: (361) 825-3634
riccardo.mozzachiodi@tamucc.edu

Neurobiology; biological basis of learning and memory; behavior

Photo of Felix Omoruyi Felix Omoruyi, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Clinical Laboratory Science
Office: TH 238
Phone: (361) 825-2473
felix.omoruyi@tamucc.edu

Currently, research in my laboratory is centered on the biochemical changes in the red blood cell membrane and serum in fairly and poorly controlled diabetic patients relative to healthy control.
Photo of Dara Orbach Dara Orbach, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor of Biology
Office: TH 231
Phone: (361) 825-3217
dara.orbach@tamucc.edu


Photo of Christopher Patrick Christopher Patrick, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
Office: TH 140
Phone: (361) 825-6022
christopher.patrick@tamucc.edu

Photo of Frank Pezold Frank Pezold, Ph.D.
Professor and Dean of the College
Office: CI 372
Phone: (361) 825-2349
frank.pezold@tamucc.edu

Fish diversity, systematics, ecology and conservation

Photo of Jennifer Pollack Jennifer Pollack, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Marine Biology
Office: SL2 101
Phone: (361) 825-2041
jennifer.pollack@tamucc.edu

Field research experience in temperate salt marsh creeks, semi-arid estuaries, and polar regions
Photo of David Portnoy David Portnoy, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor of Marine Biology
Office: TH 138
Phone: (361) 825-2859
david.portnoy@tamucc.edu

Conservation genetics of exploited marine fishes, historical patterns of zoogeography, systematics and evolution of bony fishes and elasmobranchs, patterns of sexual selection, conflict and speciation.

Photo of Ed Proffitt Ed Proffitt, Ph.D.
Professor
Office: RFEB 310A
Phone: (361) 825-2358
ed.proffitt@tamucc.edu

Ecology of estuarine and marine plants and invertebrates; ecological genetics; experimental design and biometry; applying multivariate statistics to address large-scale problems
Photo of Brandi Reese Brandi Reese, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor of Microbial Ecology
Office: TH 136
Phone: (361) 825-3022
brandi.reese@tamucc.edu

Microbial ecology, Geomicrobiology, Biogeochemistry, Molecular microbiology, Genetics, Transcriptomics, Marine deep subsurface biosphere

Photo of John Scarpa John Scarpa, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Aquaculture
Office: TH 339
Phone: (361) 825-2369
john.scarpa@tamucc.edu

Mariculture/Aquaculture of bivalves, crustaceans, microalgae and biomedical species (e.g., tunicates); oyster restoration and stock enhancement
Photo of Frauke Seemann Frauke Seemann, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor of Marine Biomedical Science
Office: TH 332
Phone: (361) 825-2683
frauke.seemann@tamucc.edu


Photo of Jean Sparks Jean Sparks, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
Director of Clinical Laboratory Science
Office: TH 237
Phone: (361) 825-2359
jean.sparks@tamucc.edu

Clinical laboratory science; hematology; botany
Photo of Greg Stunz Greg Stunz, Ph.D.
Professor of Marine Biology and Endowed Chair for Fisheries and Ocean Health
Office: HRI 311C
Phone: (361) 825-3254
greg.stunz@tamucc.edu

Marine biology, marine ecology, marine fisheries ecology, fisheries, estuarine ecology, environmental biology

Photo of M-Emad Tahtamouni M-Emad Tahtamouni, Ph.D.
Professional Assistant Professor
Office: TH 132
Phone: (361) 825-5819
m-emad.tahtamouni@tamucc.edu

Photo of Jeffrey Turner Jeffrey Turner, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor of Marine Biology
Office: TH 240
Phone: (361) 825-6206
jeffrey.turner@tamucc.edu

Microbial Ecology, Molecular Biology, Population Genetics, Evolution, Genomics, Metagenomics, connections between oceans and human health

Photo of Benjamin Walther Benjamin Walther, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
Office: TH 336
Phone: (361) 825-4168
benjamin.walther@tamucc.edu

Fish migration ecology; population connectivity; habitat use; food web dynamics; carbonate chemistry
Photo of Michael Wetz Michael Wetz, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Marine Biology
Office: SL2 102
Phone: (361) 825-2132
michael.wetz@tamucc.edu

Phytoplankton ecology, estuarine and coastal food webs and biogeochemical cycles, effects of climatic and anthropogenic change

Photo of Kim Withers Kim Withers, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
Office: NRC 3205
Phone: (361) 825-5907
kim.withers@tamucc.edu

Tidal flat ecology; invertebrates & nekton of tidal flats & marshes; shorebird habitat use on tidal flats in Laguna Madre & Corpus Christi Bay; mangrove-associated faunas; seagrass ecology & invertebrate communities; impacts of succession on juvenile fish communities; fisheries resources in Texas & Mexico
Photo of Wei Xu Wei Xu, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor of Marine Biomedical Science
Office: TH 331
Phone: (361) 825-2676
wei.xu@tamucc.edu


Photo of Paul Zimba Paul Zimba, Ph.D.
Professor and Director of the Center for Coastal Studies
Office: NRC 3213
Phone: (361) 825-2768
paul.zimba@tamucc.edu

Phytoplankton ecology and harmful algal blooms

Research Professors in the Department of Life Sciences


Photo of Donna Devlin Donna Devlin, Ph.D.
Research Professor
Office: CS 106
Phone: (361) 825-3935
donna.devlin@tamucc.edu

Staff in the Department of Life Sciences


Photo of Ken Brown Ken Brown
Senior Administrative Assistant
Office: TH 309E
Phone: (361) 825-3907
kenneth.brown@tamucc.edu

Photo of Sue Burgess Sue Burgess
Administrative Assistant
Office: TH 309G
Phone: (361) 825-2005
sue.vickers@tamucc.edu


Photo of Ronnie Emanuel Ronnie Emanuel
Academic Advisor
ronnie.emanuel@tamucc.edu

Biology MS
Biomedical Sciences BS (Clinical Lab Studies)
Chemistry Minor, BS, MS
Fisheries & Mariculture MS
Marine Biology MS
Math Minor, BS, MS
Physics Minor, BS
Undecided S&E Students BS
Photo of Jessica Han Jessica Han
Laboratory Coordinator
Office: TH 210C
Phone: (361) 825-3628
jessica.han@tamucc.edu


Photo of Philip Jose Philip Jose
Laboratory Coordinator
Office: TH 143
Phone: (361) 825-5757
philip.jose@tamucc.edu

Photo of Githzette Planas Githzette Planas
Laboratory Coordinator
Office: TH 241
Phone: (361) 825-2891
githzette.planas@tamucc.edu


Photo of Sarah Wood Sarah Wood
Administrative Assistant
Office: TH 309F
Phone: (361) 825-2754
sarah.wood@tamucc.edu