Faculty & Staff Directory

Administrators for the Chemistry Graduate Program


Photo of Feri BilliotFeri Billiot, Ph.D.
Associate Professor and Program Coordinator
Office: CS 130D
Phone: (361) 825-6067
fereshteh.billiot@tamucc.edu

Chiral separations with amino acid based surfactants; distribution, fate & effect of endocrine disruptors in the environment

Faculty in the Chemistry Graduate Program


Photo of Hussain Abdulla Hussain Abdulla, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor of Chemistry
Office: CS 211
Phone: (361) 825-6050
hussain.abdulla@tamucc.edu

Focusing on four research areas of Organic Biogeochemistry: Environmental metabolomics; Fate of terrestrial dissolved organic matter; Effects of natural organic matter in the solubility of anthropogenic pollutants and Chemical characterization of trace metals organic ligands.
Photo of Eugene Billiot Eugene Billiot, Ph.D.
Professor of Environmental Chemistry
Office: CS 129
Phone: (361) 825-2680
eugene.billiot@tamucc.edu

Understanding chiral separations with amino acid based surfactants.

Photo of Timothy Causgrove Timothy Causgrove, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Chemistry
Office: CS 207
Phone: (361) 825-2399
tim.causgrove@tamucc.edu

Spectroscopic measurement of energy barriers to protein folding, molecular modeling of peptide structure and dynamics
Photo of Richard Coffin Richard Coffin, Ph.D.
PENS Chair & Professor
Office: NRC 3500
Phone: (361) 825-2814
richard.coffin@tamucc.edu

Carbon isotope geochemistry to study biogeochemical cycles in the coastal ocean and estuaries.

Photo of Jeremy Conkle Jeremy Conkle, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor of Chemistry
Office: HRI 104
Phone: (361) 825-2862
jeremy.conkle@tamucc.edu

Fate, transport and health (ecosystem and human) impacts of pollutants, particularly emerging contaminants and marine plastics in coastal and marine environments.
Photo of Joseph David Felix Joseph David Felix, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor of Environmental Chemistry
Office: NRC 3202
Phone: (361) 825-4180
joseph.felix@tamucc.edu

Stable isotope biogeochemistry; Transport, fate, and air-sea-land exchange processes of volatile organic compounds and reactive nitrogen; Bulk and compound-specific stable isotope analysis method development

Photo of Xinping Hu Xinping Hu, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
Office: SL2 104
Phone: (361) 825-3395
xinping.hu@tamucc.edu

Oceanic carbon cycle; Ocean acidification; Sediment early diagenesis; Carbonate geochemistry; Stable isotope biogeochemistry
Photo of Iltai (Isaac) Kim Iltai (Isaac) Kim, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor of Engineering
Office: EN 318
Phone: (361) 825-2734
ikim@tamucc.edu

Nano/bio chemical sensing, micro/nanoscale fluidics and heat transport, and energy conversion based on nano-biophotonics

Photo of Patrick Larkin Patrick Larkin, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Chemistry
Office: CS 203
Phone: (361) 825-3258
patrick.larkin@tamucc.edu

Plant biochemistry, chemical and molecular ecology
Photo of Ruby Mehrubeoglu Ruby Mehrubeoglu, Ph.D.
Professor of Engineering
Office: EN 222D
Phone: (361) 825-3378
ruby.mehrubeoglu@tamucc.edu

Hyperspectral imaging and image analysis of a variety of materials, material characterization through spectral signatures and spatial distributions, and thermal imaging and visible-range digital image classification

Photo of Dorina Murgulet Dorina Murgulet, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Geology
Office: NRC 3203
Phone: (361) 825-2309
dorina.murgulet@tamucc.edu

Physical and Contaminant Hydrogeology; Hydrology and Water Resources; Groundwater/surface water interactions; Coastal hydrogeology.
Photo of Felix Omoruyi Felix Omoruyi, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Clinical Laboratory Science
Office: CS 130B
Phone: (361) 825-2473
felix.omoruyi@tamucc.edu

Currently, research in my laboratory is centered on the biochemical changes in the red blood cell membrane and serum in fairly and poorly controlled diabetic patients relative to healthy control.

Photo of Paula Rose Paula Rose, Ph.D.
Associate Research Scientist
Office: NRC 3510
Phone: (361) 825-2710
paula.rose@tamucc.edu

Isotope biogeochemistry; marine biogeochemistry; sediment biogeochemistry
Photo of Jim Silliman Jim Silliman, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Chemistry
Office: HRI 120
Phone: (361) 825-3718
james.silliman@tamucc.edu

Organic geochemistry: Climate and environmental change and Differences in organic geochemical practices

Photo of Jeffrey Turner Jeffrey Turner, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor of Marine Biology
Office: SL1 105
Phone: (361) 825-6206
jeffrey.turner@tamucc.edu

Microbial Ecology, Molecular Biology, Population Genetics, Evolution, Genomics, Metagenomics, connections between oceans and human health
Photo of Lin Zhang Lin Zhang, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
Office: HRI 104
Phone: (361) 825-2095
lin.zhang@tamucc.edu

Compound/Position Specific Carbon and Nitrogen Isotopic Analysis in Amino Acids and Application in Oceanography and Ecology. Stable Isotope Biogeochemistry of Greenhouse Gases in Alaskan Peatlands.

Photo of Paul Zimba Paul Zimba, Ph.D.
Professor and Director of the Center for Coastal Studies
Office: NRC 3213
Phone: (361) 825-2768
paul.zimba@tamucc.edu

Phytoplankton ecology and harmful algal blooms