Faculty & Staff Directory

Administrators for the Environmental Science Program


Photo of Jennifer Smith-EngleJennifer Smith-Engle, Ph.D.
Professor and Program Coordinator
Office: NRC 3502
Phone: (361) 825-2436
jennifer.smith-engle@tamucc.edu

Coastal geology, coastal management, sedimentary geology, regional geology, coastal processes; coastal regulations and resource management; Late Pleistocene/Holocene coastal geology and geomorphology

Faculty in the Environmental Science Program


Photo of Hussain Abdulla Hussain Abdulla, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor of Chemistry
Office: CS 211
Phone: (361) 825-6050
hussain.abdulla@tamucc.edu

Focusing on four research areas of Organic Biogeochemistry: Environmental metabolomics; Fate of terrestrial dissolved organic matter; Effects of natural organic matter in the solubility of anthropogenic pollutants and Chemical characterization of trace metals organic ligands.
Photo of Feri Billiot Feri Billiot, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Chemistry
Office: CS 130D
Phone: (361) 825-6067
fereshteh.billiot@tamucc.edu

Chiral separations with amino acid based surfactants; distribution, fate & effect of endocrine disruptors in the environment

Photo of Darek Bogucki Darek Bogucki, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
Office: HRI 118
Phone: (361) 825-2836
darek.bogucki@tamucc.edu

Small scale physical processes in the coastal ocean, including remote sensing, numerical methods in fluid dynamics, biological-physical interactions, sensors, and LIDAR
Photo of Gregory Buck Gregory Buck, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
Office: CS 251
Phone: (361) 825-3717
gregory.buck@tamucc.edu

Molecular biology of prokaryotes; medical microbiology; virology; science education

Photo of Kirk Cammarata Kirk Cammarata, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Biology
Office: EN 319B
Phone: (361) 825-2468
kirk.cammarata@tamucc.edu

Plant responses to contaminated environments using molecular, biochemical and genomics techniques; Phytoremediation; Molecular characterization of epiphytic biofilms on seagrasses; Seagrass stress responses
Photo of Richard Coffin Richard Coffin, Ph.D.
PENS Chair & Professor
Office: NRC 3500
Phone: (361) 825-2814
richard.coffin@tamucc.edu

Carbon isotope geochemistry to study biogeochemical cycles in the coastal ocean and estuaries.

Photo of Jeremy Conkle Jeremy Conkle, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor of Chemistry
Office: HRI 104
Phone: (361) 825-2862
jeremy.conkle@tamucc.edu

Fate, transport and health (ecosystem and human) impacts of pollutants, particularly emerging contaminants and marine plastics in coastal and marine environments.
Photo of Joseph David Felix Joseph David Felix, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor of Environmental Chemistry
Office: NRC 3202
Phone: (361) 825-4180
joseph.felix@tamucc.edu

Stable isotope biogeochemistry; Transport, fate, and air-sea-land exchange processes of volatile organic compounds and reactive nitrogen; Bulk and compound-specific stable isotope analysis method development

Photo of James Gibeaut James Gibeaut, Ph.D.
Endowed Associate Research Professor
Office: HRI 215A
Phone: (361) 825-2060
james.gibeaut@tamucc.edu

Coastal geology using topographic Lidar, remote sensing, GIS, and field surveys to measure and understand coastal change
Photo of Xinping Hu Xinping Hu, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
Office: SL2 104
Phone: (361) 825-3395
xinping.hu@tamucc.edu

Oceanic carbon cycle; Ocean acidification; Sediment early diagenesis; Carbonate geochemistry; Stable isotope biogeochemistry

Photo of Patrick Larkin Patrick Larkin, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Chemistry
Office: CS 203
Phone: (361) 825-3258
patrick.larkin@tamucc.edu

Biochemistry, molecular ecology of marine plants
Photo of Chuntao Liu Chuntao Liu, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Atmospheric Sciences
Office: NRC 1109
Phone: (361) 825-3845
chuntao.liu@tamucc.edu

Research area: Remote sensing of cloud, precipitation and severe weather.

Photo of Cherie McCollough Cherie McCollough, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
Office: EN 310A
Phone: (361) 825-3166
cherie.mccollough@tamucc.edu

Dr. McCollough is interested in environmental education issues that are related to ecology and life sciences and has research experience both in the public schools and higher education.
Photo of Richard Mclaughlin Richard Mclaughlin
HRI Chair and Professor
Office: HRI 311C
Phone: (361) 825-2010
richard.mclaughlin@tamucc.edu

Marine policy and law

Photo of Paul Montagna Paul Montagna, Ph.D.
Endowed Chair for Ecosystems Studies and Modeling
Office: HRI 210A
Phone: (361) 825-2040
paul.montagna@tamucc.edu

Ecosystem studies with a focus on benthic components, freshwater resources, water quality, ecosystem modeling, and environmental statistics; and integrating natural science with human dimensions research.
Photo of Riccardo Mozzachiodi Riccardo Mozzachiodi, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Neuroscience
Office: EN 321
Phone: (361) 825-3634
riccardo.mozzachiodi@tamucc.edu

Neurobiology; biological basis of learning and memory; behavior

Photo of Dorina Murgulet Dorina Murgulet, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Geology
Office: NRC 3203
Phone: (361) 825-2309
dorina.murgulet@tamucc.edu

Physical and Contaminant Hydrogeology; Hydrology and Water Resources; Groundwater/surface water interactions; Coastal hydrogeology.
Photo of Jennifer Pollack Jennifer Pollack, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Marine Biology
Office: SL2 101
Phone: (361) 825-2041
jennifer.pollack@tamucc.edu

Field research experience in temperate salt marsh creeks, semi-arid estuaries, and polar regions

Photo of Brandi Reese Brandi Reese, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor of Microbial Ecology
Office: SL1 105
Phone: (361) 825-3022
brandi.reese@tamucc.edu

Microbial ecology, Geomicrobiology, Biogeochemistry, Molecular microbiology, Genetics, Transcriptomics, Marine deep subsurface biosphere
Photo of Toshiaki Shinoda Toshiaki Shinoda, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Atmospheric Science
Office: NRC 3509
Phone: (361) 825-3636
toshiaki.shinoda@tamucc.edu

Climate dynamics, Atmosphere-ocean interaction, Physical oceanography

Photo of Jim Silliman Jim Silliman, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Chemistry
Office: HRI 120
Phone: (361) 825-3718
james.silliman@tamucc.edu

Organic geochemistry: Climate and environmental change and Differences in organic geochemical practices, Biogeochemistry, Environmental chemistry
Photo of Lee Smee Lee Smee, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
Office: CS 250
Phone: (361) 825-3637
lee.smee@tamucc.edu

Ecology; animal behavior; chemical signaling in aquatic systems; marine biology

Photo of Michael Starek Michael Starek, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
Office: NRC 3407
Phone: (361) 825-3978
michael.starek@tamucc.edu

Geospatial remote sensing and analytics, including LiDAR and UAV approaches, for study of natural and built systems with emphasis on coastal-environmental problem domains.
Photo of Greg Stunz Greg Stunz, Ph.D.
Professor of Marine Biology and Endowed Chair for Fisheries and Ocean Health
Office: HRI 214A
Phone: (361) 825-3254
greg.stunz@tamucc.edu

Marine biology, marine ecology, marine fisheries ecology, fisheries, estuarine ecology, environmental biology

Photo of Philippe Tissot Philippe Tissot, Ph.D.
Associate Research Professor
Office: NRC 2801
Phone: (361) 825-3776
philippe.tissot@tamucc.edu

My main research interest is the application and development of machine learning based techniques
Photo of Michael Wetz Michael Wetz, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Marine Biology
Office: SL2 102
Phone: (361) 825-2132
michael.wetz@tamucc.edu

Phytoplankton ecology, estuarine and coastal food webs and biogeochemical cycles, effects of climatic and anthropogenic change

Photo of Kim Withers Kim Withers, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
Office: NRC 3205
Phone: (361) 825-5907
kim.withers@tamucc.edu

Photo of Tony Wood Tony Wood
Director, National Spill Control School
Office: NRC 1105
Phone: (361) 825-3333
tony.wood@tamucc.edu


Photo of Feiqin Xie Feiqin Xie, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor of Atmospheric Sciences
Office: NRC 3507
Phone: (361) 825-3229
feiqin.xie@tamucc.edu

My primary research interests are in atmospheric remote sensing and atmospheric dynamics.
Photo of David Yoskowitz David Yoskowitz
HRI Chair & Professor
Office: HRI 210B
Phone: (361) 825-2966
david.yoskowitz@tamucc.edu

Economics and ecosystem services

Photo of Lin Zhang Lin Zhang, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
Office: HRI 104
Phone: (361) 825-2095
lin.zhang@tamucc.edu

Compound/Position Specific Carbon and Nitrogen Isotopic Analysis in Amino Acids and Application in Oceanography and Ecology. Stable Isotope Biogeochemistry of Greenhouse Gases in Alaskan Peatlands.
Photo of Paul Zimba Paul Zimba, Ph.D.
Professor and Director of the Center for Coastal Studies
Office: NRC 3213
Phone: (361) 825-2768
paul.zimba@tamucc.edu

Phytoplankton ecology and harmful algal blooms