Faculty & Staff Directory

Administrators for the School of Engineering and Computing Sciences


Photo of Lea-Der ChenLea-Der Chen, Ph.D.
Director
Office: CI 371
Phone: (361) 825-3046
ld.chen@tamucc.edu

Combustion and Gasification of Biomass and Alternative Fuels; Fuel Characterization; Fuel Cells; Immersive Evaluation of Vehicles; Solar Thermal Power; Wind Turbine

Faculty in the School of Engineering and Computing Sciences


Photo of Mohammed Belkhouche Mohammed Belkhouche, Ph.D.
Professional Assistant Professor
Office: CI 305
Phone: (361) 825-3492
mohammed.belkhouche@tamucc.edu

Machine vision, pattern recognition and analysis, Multi-sensor information fusion, immersive visualization, formal specification methods.
Photo of Carol Binkerd Carol Binkerd
Assistant Professor
Office: CI 320
Phone: (361) 825-2397
carol.binkerd@tamucc.edu

Advising, Mentoring, Retention, and Recruitment

Photo of David Bridges David Bridges, Ph.D.
Associate Professor and Director of the Unmanned Aerial Systems Program
Office: EN 222E
Phone: (361) 825-2181
david.bridges@tamucc.edu

Photo of Andrew Conkey Andrew Conkey, Ph.D.
Visiting Assistant Professor
Office: EN 210
Phone: (361) 825-2559
andrew.conkey@tamucc.edu


Photo of Rafael Fox Rafael Fox, MSEE
Instructor
Office: EN 216
Phone: (361) 825-2593
rafael.fox@tamucc.edu

Photo of Mario Garcia Mario Garcia, Ph.D.
Associate Dean for Academics; Professor, Computer Science
Office: CI 370
Phone: (361) 825-2898
mario.garcia@tamucc.edu

Network Security; Intrusion Detection/Prevention; Computer Forensics; Web Security; Software Engineering; Artificial Intelligence; Neural Networks; Fuzzy Logic; Intelligent Agents; Genetic Algorithms.

Photo of Luis Garcia Carrillo Luis Garcia Carrillo, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
Office: EN 316M
luis.garcia@tamucc.edu

Photo of Ismail Hadimlioglu Ismail Hadimlioglu
Instructor of Computer Science
Office: CI 339
Phone: (361) 825-3436
ismail.hadimlioglu@tamucc.edu


Photo of Mahdiar Hariri Mahdiar Hariri, Ph.D.
Professional Assistant Professor
Office: EN 207C
Phone: (361) 825-3652
mahdiar.hariri@tamucc.edu

Photo of Jerry Hendrix Jerry Hendrix
Adjunct Professor
Office: CBBIC
Phone: (361) 825-4103
jerry.hendrix@tamucc.edu

Unmanned Aircraft Systems and Autonomous Operations

Photo of Seneca Holland Seneca Holland
Instructor
Office: CBI 108
Phone: (361) 825-3712
seneca.holland@tamucc.edu

Photo of Lucy Huang Lucy Huang, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
Office: CBI 109
Phone: (361) 825-2646
lucy.huang@tamucc.edu

•Geospatial Semantic Web development: Ontology construction & mapping, semantic interoperability

Internet GIS: Web Map service development

GIS in public health: agent-based modelling and simulation


Photo of Gary Jeffress Gary Jeffress, Ph.D.
Professor and Director, Conrad Blucher Institute
Office: CBI 111
Phone: (361) 825-2720
gary.jeffress@tamucc.edu

Land Surveying and Land Administration Systems, Real-time environmental monitoring, Cadastral systems design, Geospatial systems design
Photo of Jinha Jung Jinha Jung, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor of Engineering
Office: EN 320
Phone: (361) 825-3294
jinha.jung@tamucc.edu

Advanced remote sensing data analysis, UAS, remote sensing algorithms on HPC, Web based GIS development

Photo of Dulal Kar Dulal Kar, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
Office: CI 321
Phone: (361) 825-5878
dulal.kar@tamucc.edu

Signal and image processing algorithms, network architecture and performance measurement, network and information security, information retrieval, and educational technology
Photo of Ajay Katangur Ajay Katangur, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
Office: CI 340
Phone: (361) 825-2478
ajay.katangur@tamucc.edu

Computer Networks, Network related Algorithms, Artificial Intelligence, Parallel and Distributed Computing, and Bio-Informatics

Photo of Iltai (Isaac) Kim Iltai (Isaac) Kim, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor of Engineering
Office: EN 318
Phone: (361) 825-2734
ikim@tamucc.edu

Nano/bio chemical sensing, micro/nanoscale fluidics and heat transport, and energy conversion based on nano-biophotonics
Photo of Scott King Scott King, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
Office: CI 341
Phone: (361) 825-5877
scott.king@tamucc.edu

Computer Graphics: Facial Animation and Modeling, Real-Time Graphics, Rendering, Scientific Visualization; Face-to-Face Human Computer Interaction

Photo of Byung Cheol (Bruce) Lee Byung Cheol (Bruce) Lee, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
Office: EN 315
Phone: (361) 825-4134
byungcheol.lee@tamucc.edu

Photo of Longzhuang Li Longzhuang Li, Ph.D.
Professor of Computer Science
Office: CI 323
Phone: (361) 825-2406
longzhuang.li@tamucc.edu

Information Retrieval on the Internet, web-based Learning, image processing

Photo of Zhaorui Li Zhaorui Li, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
Office: EN 316R
Phone: (361) 825-4170
zhaorui.li@tamucc.edu

Photo of Ahmed Mahdy Ahmed Mahdy, Ph.D.
Associate Vice President for RCO
Professor of Computer Science and Director of iCORE
Office: CBI 103D
Phone: (361) 825-2828
ahmed.mahdy@tamucc.edu

Broadband Wireless Networks, Mobile Ad Hoc Networks, Sensor Networks, Optical Wireless Networks, Peer-to-Peer Networks, Software Stability, Software Architecture, Software Patterns

Photo of Ruby Mehrubeoglu Ruby Mehrubeoglu, Ph.D.
Professor of Engineering
Office: EN 222B
Phone: (361) 825-3378
ruby.mehrubeoglu@tamucc.edu

Hyperspectral imaging and image analysis of a variety of materials, material characterization through spectral signatures and spatial distributions, and thermal imaging and visible-range digital image classification
Photo of Tony Nettleman Tony Nettleman, Ph.D.
Professional Assistant Professor
Office: CBI 105
Phone: (361) 825-3412
charles.nettleman@tamucc.edu


Photo of Jangwoon Park Jangwoon Park, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
Office: EN 320
Phone: (361) 825-2874
jangwoon.park@tamucc.edu

Human factors/ergonomics; Biomechanics; Engineering anthropometry; Digital human modeling and simulation; Usability testing; Kansei Engineering
Photo of Maryam Rahnemoonfar Maryam Rahnemoonfar, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor of Computer Science
Office: CI 332
Phone: (361) 825-2448
maryam.rahnemoonfar@tamucc.edu


Photo of Jian Sheng Jian Sheng, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
Office: EN 313
Phone: (361) 825-3731
jian.sheng@tamucc.edu

Photo of Alaa Sheta Alaa Sheta, Ph.D.
Professional Assistant Professor
Office: CI 342
Phone: (361) 825-3711
alaa.sheta@tamucc.edu


Photo of Petru-Aurelian Simionescu Petru-Aurelian Simionescu, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
Office: EN 207B
Phone: (361) 825-5899
pa.simionescu@tamucc.edu

Photo of Richard Smith Richard Smith, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
Office: CBI 106
Phone: (361) 825-2750
richard.smith@tamucc.edu

Disaster mapping, democratization of cartography, open source GIS, geospatial programming.

Photo of Michael Starek Michael Starek, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
Office: NRC 3407
Phone: (361) 825-3978
michael.starek@tamucc.edu

Geospatial remote sensing and analytics, including LiDAR and UAV approaches, for study of natural and built systems with emphasis on coastal-environmental problem domains.
Photo of Magesh Thiyagarajan Magesh Thiyagarajan, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
Office: EN 222D
Phone: (361) 825-2144
magesh.thiyagarajan@tamucc.edu

Synthesis and characterization of nanomaterials, nanofluids, self-assembly, surface chemistry, dynamic light scattering, zeta potential and contact angle studies, spectroscopy for a range of applications.

Photo of David Thomas David Thomas, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
Office: CI 319
Phone: (361) 825-2475
david.thomas@tamucc.edu

Theory of computing, mathematics and graduate project proposals
Photo of Dugan Um Dugan Um, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
Office: EN 222C
Phone: (361) 825-3381
dugan.um@tamucc.edu


Photo of Junfei Xie Junfei Xie, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
Office: CI 327
Phone: (361) 825-3622
junfei.xie@tamucc.edu

Photo of Masoud Yari Masoud Yari, Ph.D.
Visiting Professor
Office: EN 317
Phone: (361) 825-3165
masoud.yari@tamucc.edu


Photo of Hua Zhang Hua Zhang, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor of Engineering
Office: EN 312
Phone: (361) 825-2467
hua.zhang@tamucc.edu

Hydrology and Ecohydrology; Water Resources Planning and Management; Multisource Remote Sensing and GIS; Water and Soil Pollution Control; Environmental Systems Analysis; Environmental Impact Assessment; Wetland Restoration and Ecological Engineering.

Adjunct Faculty in the School of Engineering and Computing Sciences


Photo of Ronald Carlson Ronald Carlson
Adjunct Professor
Office: EN 219
Phone: (361) 825-3272
ronald.carlson@tamucc.edu

Photo of Anjin Chang Anjin Chang, Ph.D.
Adjunct Professor
Office: NRC 2100
anjin.chang@tamucc.edu


Photo of Cosmina Nicula Cosmina Nicula
Adjunct Faculty
Office: EN 316A
Phone: (361) 825-3569
cosmina.nicula@tamucc.edu

Staff in the School of Engineering and Computing Sciences


Photo of Christine Allman Christine Allman
ABET Coordinator
Office: EN 218
Phone: (361) 825-5876
christine.allman@tamucc.edu

Photo of Mayra Alvarado Ramirez Mayra Alvarado Ramirez
Engineering Recruitment and STEM Outreach
Office: EN 215
Phone: (361) 825-6025
mayra.alvarado@tamucc.edu


Photo of Diana Avila Diana Avila
Senior Secretary
Office: EN 222
Phone: (361) 825-5849
diana.avila@tamucc.edu

Photo of Margo Carrasco Margo Carrasco
Senior Administrative Assistant
Office: CI 301
Phone: (361) 825-6068
margo.carrasco@tamucc.edu


Photo of Dee Edgar Dee Edgar
Executive Assistant
Office: CBI 110
Phone: (361) 825-5850
dee.edgar@tamucc.edu

Photo of Jack Esparza Jack Esparza
Laboratory Coordinator II
Office: EN 114A
Phone: (361) 825-3897
jack.esparza@tamucc.edu


Photo of John Gonzalez John Gonzalez
Laboratory Coordinator II
Office: EN 222A
Phone: (361) 825-2667
juan.gonzalez3@tamucc.edu

Photo of Frances Jordan Frances Jordan
Academic Advisor
frances.jordan@tamucc.edu

Electrical Engineering
Geospatial Computing Sciences
Geospatial Survey Engineering

Mechanical Engineering
Mechanical Engineering Technology

Photo of Lori Shearin Lori Shearin
Academic Advisor
lori.shearin@tamucc.edu

Electrical Engineering Freshman*
Geography Minor
Geographic Information Science
Mechanical Engineering Freshmen*
Mechanical Engineering Technology Freshmen*

*Freshmen are defined as students with fewer than 30 semester credit hours earned
Photo of Martha Simcik Martha Simcik
Academic Advisor
martha.simcik@tamucc.edu

Coastal & Marine System Science
Computer Science
Environmental Science MS
Geology