Faculty & Staff Directory

Administrators for the School of Engineering and Computing Sciences


Photo of Lea-Der ChenLea-Der Chen, Ph.D.
Director
Office: CI 371
Phone: (361) 825-3046
ld.chen@tamucc.edu

Combustion and Gasification of Biomass and Alternative Fuels; Fuel Characterization; Fuel Cells; Immersive Evaluation of Vehicles; Solar Thermal Power; Wind Turbine

Faculty in the School of Engineering and Computing Sciences


Photo of Jose Baca Jose Baca, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
Office: EN 222B
Phone: (361) 825-2144
jose.baca@tamucc.edu

Photo of Sayed Banawan Sayed Banawan, Ph.D.
Visiting Professor
Office: CI 340
Phone: (361) 825-2478
sayed.banawan@tamucc.edu


Photo of Mohammed Belkhouche Mohammed Belkhouche, Ph.D.
Professional Assistant Professor
Office: CI 305
Phone: (361) 825-3492
mohammed.belkhouche@tamucc.edu

Machine vision, pattern recognition and analysis, Multi-sensor information fusion, immersive visualization, formal specification methods.
Photo of David Bridges David Bridges, Ph.D.
Associate Professor and Director of the Unmanned Aerial Systems Program
Office: EN 222E
Phone: (361) 825-2181
david.bridges@tamucc.edu


Photo of Saman DeSilva Saman DeSilva, Ph.D.
Professional Assistant Professor
Office: EN 314G
Phone: (361) 825-3831
saman.desilva@tamucc.edu


Photo of Davey Edwards Davey Edwards, Ph.D.
Professional Assistant Professor
Office: CBI 105
davey.edwards@tamucc.edu

Photo of Rafael Fox Rafael Fox, MSEE
Instructor
Office: EN 216
Phone: (361) 825-2593
rafael.fox@tamucc.edu


Photo of Mario Garcia Mario Garcia, Ph.D.
Associate Dean for Academics; Professor, Computer Science
Office: CI 370
Phone: (361) 825-2898
mario.garcia@tamucc.edu

Network Security; Intrusion Detection/Prevention; Computer Forensics; Web Security; Software Engineering; Artificial Intelligence; Neural Networks; Fuzzy Logic; Intelligent Agents; Genetic Algorithms.
Photo of Luis Garcia Carrillo Luis Garcia Carrillo, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
Office: EN 316M
luis.garcia@tamucc.edu


Photo of Ismail Hadimlioglu Ismail Hadimlioglu
Instructor of Computer Science
Office: CI 339
Phone: (361) 825-3436
ismail.hadimlioglu@tamucc.edu

Photo of Mahdiar Hariri Mahdiar Hariri, Ph.D.
Professional Assistant Professor
Office: EN 207C
Phone: (361) 825-3652
mahdiar.hariri@tamucc.edu


Photo of Marwa Hassan Marwa Hassan
CS Instructor
Office: EN 316J
Phone: (361) 825-3187
marwa.hassan@tamucc.edu

Photo of Lucy Huang Lucy Huang, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
Office: CBI 109
Phone: (361) 825-2646
lucy.huang@tamucc.edu

•Geospatial Semantic Web development: Ontology construction & mapping, semantic interoperability

Internet GIS: Web Map service development

GIS in public health: agent-based modelling and simulation


Photo of Minhua Huang Minhua Huang, Ph.D.
Professional Assistant Professor
Office: EN 314A
Phone: (361) 825-3265
minhua.huang@tamucc.edu

Photo of Gary Jeffress Gary Jeffress, Ph.D.
Professor and Director, Conrad Blucher Institute
Office: CBI 111
Phone: (361) 825-2720
gary.jeffress@tamucc.edu

Land Surveying and Land Administration Systems, Real-time environmental monitoring, Cadastral systems design, Geospatial systems design

Photo of Jinha Jung Jinha Jung, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor of Engineering
Office: EN 320
Phone: (361) 825-3294
jinha.jung@tamucc.edu

Advanced remote sensing data analysis, UAS, remote sensing algorithms on HPC, Web based GIS development
Photo of Dulal Kar Dulal Kar, Ph.D.
Professor of Computer Science
Office: CI 321
Phone: (361) 825-5878
dulal.kar@tamucc.edu

Signal and image processing algorithms, network architecture and performance measurement, network and information security, information retrieval, and educational technology

Photo of Iltai (Isaac) Kim Iltai (Isaac) Kim, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor of Engineering
Office: EN 318
Phone: (361) 825-2734
ikim@tamucc.edu

Nano/bio chemical sensing, micro/nanoscale fluidics and heat transport, and energy conversion based on nano-biophotonics
Photo of Scott King Scott King, Ph.D.
Associate Professor and Chair of Computing Sciences
Office: CI 341
Phone: (361) 825-5877
scott.king@tamucc.edu

Computer Graphics: Facial Animation and Modeling, Real-Time Graphics, Rendering, Scientific Visualization; Face-to-Face Human Computer Interaction

Photo of Rajeev Kumar Rajeev Kumar, Ph.D.
Visiting Assistant Professor
Office: EN 210
rajeev.kumar@tamucc.edu

Photo of Byung Cheol (Bruce) Lee Byung Cheol (Bruce) Lee, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
Office: EN 315
Phone: (361) 825-4134
byungcheol.lee@tamucc.edu


Photo of Longzhuang Li Longzhuang Li, Ph.D.
Professor of Computer Science
Office: CI 323
Phone: (361) 825-2406
longzhuang.li@tamucc.edu

Information Retrieval on the Internet, web-based Learning, image processing
Photo of Zhaorui Li Zhaorui Li, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
Office: EN 316R
Phone: (361) 825-4170
zhaorui.li@tamucc.edu


Photo of Ahmed Mahdy Ahmed Mahdy, Ph.D.
Vice President for Research
Professor of Computer Science
Office: FC 165
Phone: (361) 825-3881
ahmed.mahdy@tamucc.edu

Broadband Wireless Networks, Mobile Ad Hoc Networks, Sensor Networks, Optical Wireless Networks, Peer-to-Peer Networks, Software Stability, Software Architecture, Software Patterns
Photo of Ruby Mehrubeoglu Ruby Mehrubeoglu, Ph.D.
Professor of Engineering
Office: EN 222D
Phone: (361) 825-3378
ruby.mehrubeoglu@tamucc.edu

Hyperspectral imaging and image analysis of a variety of materials, material characterization through spectral signatures and spatial distributions, and thermal imaging and visible-range digital image classification

Photo of Jangwoon Park Jangwoon Park, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
Office: EN 320
Phone: (361) 825-2874
jangwoon.park@tamucc.edu

Human factors/ergonomics; Biomechanics; Engineering anthropometry; Digital human modeling and simulation; Usability testing; Kansei Engineering
Photo of Maryam Rahnemoonfar Maryam Rahnemoonfar, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor of Computer Science
Office: CI 332
Phone: (361) 825-2448
maryam.rahnemoonfar@tamucc.edu


Photo of Jian Sheng Jian Sheng, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
Office: EN 313
Phone: (361) 825-3731
jian.sheng@tamucc.edu

Photo of Alaa Sheta Alaa Sheta, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
Office: CI 342
Phone: (361) 825-3711
alaa.sheta@tamucc.edu


Photo of Petru Aurelian Simionescu Petru Aurelian Simionescu, Ph.D., P.E.
Associate Professor
Office: EN 207B
Phone: (361) 825-5899
pa.simionescu@tamucc.edu

Photo of Hongzhi Song Hongzhi Song, Ph.D.
Professional Assistant Professor
Office: CBI 108
Phone: (361) 825-3198
hongzhi.song@tamucc.edu


Photo of Michael Starek Michael Starek, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Civil and Geospatial Engineering
Office: NRC 3407
Phone: (361) 825-3978
michael.starek@tamucc.edu

Geospatial remote sensing and analytics, including LiDAR and UAV approaches, for study of natural and built systems with emphasis on coastal-environmental problem domains.
Photo of Dugan Um Dugan Um, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
Office: EN 222C
Phone: (361) 825-3381
dugan.um@tamucc.edu


Photo of Junfei Xie Junfei Xie, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
Office: CI 327
Phone: (361) 825-3622
junfei.xie@tamucc.edu

Photo of Mamta Yadav Mamta Yadav, Ph.D.
Professional Assistant Professor
Office: EN 316N
Phone: (361) 825-2688
mamta.yadav@tamucc.edu


Photo of Masoud Yari Masoud Yari, Ph.D.
Professional Assistant Professor
Office: EN 317
Phone: (361) 825-3165
masoud.yari@tamucc.edu

Photo of Hua Zhang Hua Zhang, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor of Engineering
Office: EN 312
Phone: (361) 825-2467
hua.zhang@tamucc.edu

Hydrology and Ecohydrology; Water Resources Planning and Management; Multisource Remote Sensing and GIS; Water and Soil Pollution Control; Environmental Systems Analysis; Environmental Impact Assessment; Wetland Restoration and Ecological Engineering.

Photo of Ning Zhang Ning Zhang, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
Office: CI 339
ning.zhang@tamucc.edu

Adjunct Faculty in the School of Engineering and Computing Sciences


Photo of Ronald Carlson Ronald Carlson
Adjunct Professor
Office: EN 219
Phone: (361) 825-3272
ronald.carlson@tamucc.edu

Photo of Anjin Chang Anjin Chang, Ph.D.
Adjunct Professor
Office: NRC 2100
anjin.chang@tamucc.edu


Photo of Cosmina Nicula Cosmina Nicula
Adjunct Professor
Office: EN 316A
Phone: (361) 825-3569
cosmina.nicula@tamucc.edu

Staff in the School of Engineering and Computing Sciences


Photo of Christine Allman Christine Allman
ABET Coordinator
Office: EN 218
Phone: (361) 825-5876
christine.allman@tamucc.edu

Photo of Mayra Alvarado Ramirez Mayra Alvarado Ramirez
Engineering Recruitment and STEM Outreach
Office: EN 215
Phone: (361) 825-6025
mayra.alvarado@tamucc.edu


Photo of Diana Avila Diana Avila
Senior Secretary
Office: EN 222
Phone: (361) 825-5849
diana.avila@tamucc.edu

Photo of Margo Carrasco Margo Carrasco
Senior Administrative Assistant
Office: CI 301
Phone: (361) 825-6068
margo.carrasco@tamucc.edu


Photo of Jack Esparza Jack Esparza
Laboratory Coordinator II
Office: EN 114A
Phone: (361) 825-3897
jack.esparza@tamucc.edu

Photo of John Gonzalez John Gonzalez
Laboratory Coordinator II
Office: EN 222A
Phone: (361) 825-2667
juan.gonzalez3@tamucc.edu