Faculty & Staff Directory

Administrators for the Department of Computing Sciences


Photo of Scott KingScott King, Ph.D.
Department Chair
Office: CI 341
Phone: (361) 825-5877
scott.king@tamucc.edu

Computer Graphics: Facial Animation and Modeling, Real-Time Graphics, Rendering, Scientific Visualization; Face-to-Face Human Computer Interaction

Faculty in the Department of Computing Sciences


Photo of Mohammed Belkhouche Mohammed Belkhouche, Ph.D.
Professional Assistant Professor
Office: CI 305
Phone: (361) 825-3492
mohammed.belkhouche@tamucc.edu

Machine vision, pattern recognition and analysis, Multi-sensor information fusion, immersive visualization, formal specification methods.
Photo of Carol Binkerd Carol Binkerd
Assistant Professor
Office: CI 320
Phone: (361) 825-2397
carol.binkerd@tamucc.edu

Advising, Mentoring, Retention, and Recruitment

Photo of Saman DeSilva Saman DeSilva, Ph.D.
Professional Assistant Professor
Office: EN 314G
Phone: (361) 825-3831
saman.desilva@tamucc.edu

Photo of Mario Garcia Mario Garcia, Ph.D.
Associate Dean for Academics; Professor, Computer Science
Office: CI 370
Phone: (361) 825-2898
mario.garcia@tamucc.edu

Network Security; Intrusion Detection/Prevention; Computer Forensics; Web Security; Software Engineering; Artificial Intelligence; Neural Networks; Fuzzy Logic; Intelligent Agents; Genetic Algorithms.

Photo of Ismail Hadimlioglu Ismail Hadimlioglu
Instructor of Computer Science
Office: CI 339
Phone: (361) 825-3436
ismail.hadimlioglu@tamucc.edu

Photo of Marwa Hassan Marwa Hassan
CS Instructor
Office: EN 316J
Phone: (361) 825-3187
marwa.hassan@tamucc.edu


Photo of Lucy Huang Lucy Huang, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
Office: CBI 109
Phone: (361) 825-2646
lucy.huang@tamucc.edu

•Geospatial Semantic Web development: Ontology construction & mapping, semantic interoperability

Internet GIS: Web Map service development

GIS in public health: agent-based modelling and simulation

Photo of Minhua Huang Minhua Huang, Ph.D.
Professional Assistant Professor
Office: EN 314A
Phone: (361) 825-3265
minhua.huang@tamucc.edu


Photo of Gary Jeffress Gary Jeffress, Ph.D.
Professor and Director, Conrad Blucher Institute
Office: CBI 111
Phone: (361) 825-2720
gary.jeffress@tamucc.edu

Land Surveying and Land Administration Systems, Real-time environmental monitoring, Cadastral systems design, Geospatial systems design
Photo of Pranava Jha Pranava Jha, Ph.D.
Visiting Assistant Professor
Office: EN 316P
Phone: (361) 825-3712
pranava.jha@tamucc.edu


Photo of Dulal Kar Dulal Kar, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
Office: CI 321
Phone: (361) 825-5878
dulal.kar@tamucc.edu

Signal and image processing algorithms, network architecture and performance measurement, network and information security, information retrieval, and educational technology
Photo of Ajay Katangur Ajay Katangur, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
Office: CI 340
Phone: (361) 825-2478
ajay.katangur@tamucc.edu

Computer Networks, Network related Algorithms, Artificial Intelligence, Parallel and Distributed Computing, and Bio-Informatics

Photo of Longzhuang Li Longzhuang Li, Ph.D.
Professor of Computer Science
Office: CI 323
Phone: (361) 825-2406
longzhuang.li@tamucc.edu

Information Retrieval on the Internet, web-based Learning, image processing
Photo of Ahmed Mahdy Ahmed Mahdy, Ph.D.
Associate Vice President for RCO
Professor of Computer Science and Director of iCORE
Office: CBI 103D
Phone: (361) 825-2828
ahmed.mahdy@tamucc.edu

Broadband Wireless Networks, Mobile Ad Hoc Networks, Sensor Networks, Optical Wireless Networks, Peer-to-Peer Networks, Software Stability, Software Architecture, Software Patterns

Photo of Tony Nettleman Tony Nettleman, Ph.D.
Professional Assistant Professor
Office: CBI 105
Phone: (361) 825-3412
charles.nettleman@tamucc.edu

Photo of Maryam Rahnemoonfar Maryam Rahnemoonfar, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor of Computer Science
Office: CI 332
Phone: (361) 825-2448
maryam.rahnemoonfar@tamucc.edu


Photo of Alaa Sheta Alaa Sheta, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
Office: CI 342
Phone: (361) 825-3711
alaa.sheta@tamucc.edu

Photo of Hongzhi Song Hongzhi Song, Ph.D.
Professional Assistant Professor
Office: CBI 108
Phone: (361) 825-3198
hongzhi.song@tamucc.edu


Photo of Michael Starek Michael Starek, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
Office: NRC 3407
Phone: (361) 825-3978
michael.starek@tamucc.edu

Geospatial remote sensing and analytics, including LiDAR and UAV approaches, for study of natural and built systems with emphasis on coastal-environmental problem domains.
Photo of Junfei Xie Junfei Xie, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
Office: CI 327
Phone: (361) 825-3622
junfei.xie@tamucc.edu


Photo of Mamta Yadav Mamta Yadav, Ph.D.
Professional Assistant Professor
Office: EN 316N
Phone: (361) 825-2688
mamta.yadav@tamucc.edu

Photo of Masoud Yari Masoud Yari, Ph.D.
Visiting Professor
Office: EN 317
Phone: (361) 825-3165
masoud.yari@tamucc.edu


Photo of Ning Zhang Ning Zhang, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
Office: CI 339
ning.zhang@tamucc.edu

Staff in the Department of Computing Sciences


Photo of Margo Carrasco Margo Carrasco
Senior Administrative Assistant
Office: CI 301
Phone: (361) 825-6068
margo.carrasco@tamucc.edu

Photo of Frances Jordan Frances Jordan
Academic Advisor
frances.jordan@tamucc.edu

Geospatial Computing Sciences PhD
Geospatial Survey Engineering MS
Mechanical Engineering Sophomores, Juniors, and Seniors
Mechanical Engineering Technology Minors, Sophomores, Juniors, and Seniors

Photo of Cari Reed Cari Reed
Academic Advisor
cari.reed@tamucc.edu

Biology Minor, Freshmen [N-Z], Sophomores, Juniors, and Seniors
Photo of Lori Shearin Lori Shearin
Academic Advisor
lori.shearin@tamucc.edu

Biomedical Sciences BS [A-F]
(Pre-Professional & Forensic)
Electrical Engineering BS
Geography Minor
Geographic Information Science Minor, BS, PB Cert
Geomatics PB Cert
Mechanical Engineering Freshmen*
Mechanical Engineering Technology Freshmen*

*Freshmen are defined as students with fewer than 30 semester credit hours earned

Photo of Martha Simcik Martha Simcik
Academic Advisor
martha.simcik@tamucc.edu

Coastal & Marine System Science MS, PhD
Computer Science Minor, BS, MS
Environmental Science MS