Life Sciences Administration

Cherie McCollough
Cherie McCollough

Cherie McCollough, Ph.D.

Professor and Interim Chair of Life Sciences

Office: TH 135
Phone: 361-825-3166
Email: cherie.mccollough@tamucc.edu
Website: https://DrCherieMc.com

    Curriculum Vitae

Science education; student retention; multicultural education; teacher mentoring and training; avian ecology and population biology

Gregory Buck
Gregory Buck

Gregory Buck, Ph.D.

Associate Professor, Assistant to Life Sciences Chair, Biomedical Sciences Program Coordinator

Office: TH 309D
Phone: 361-825-3717
Email: gregory.buck@tamucc.edu

    Curriculum Vitae

Molecular biology of prokaryotes; medical microbiology; virology; science education

Ken Brown
Ken Brown

Ken Brown

Senior Administrative Assistant

Office: TH 309E
Phone: 361-825-3907
Email: kenneth.brown@tamucc.edu



Faculty

Keisha Bahr
Keisha Bahr

Keisha Bahr, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor of Biology

Office: TH 242
Phone: 361-825-3707
Email: keisha.bahr@tamucc.edu



Chris Bird
Chris Bird

Chris Bird, Ph.D.

Associate Professor of Biology

Office: TH 234
Phone: 361-825-6024
Email: chris.bird@tamucc.edu

    Curriculum Vitae

Molecular Ecology, Evolution, Population Genetics, Marine Biology, Community Ecology, Fisheries Management, Invertebrate Zoology, Biotechnology

Kirk Cammarata
Kirk Cammarata

Kirk Cammarata, Ph.D.

Associate Professor of Biology

Office: TH 338
Phone: 361-825-2468
Email: kirk.cammarata@tamucc.edu
Website: http://faculty.tamucc.edu/cammarat

    Curriculum Vitae

Physiology/biochemistry/molecular biology of seagrass stress responses to anthropogenic impacts; epiphyte dynamics and interactions with seagrasses

Barnabas Daru
Barnabas Daru

Barnabas Daru, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor of Biology

Office: TH 141
Phone: 361-825-3489
Email: barnabas.daru@tamucc.edu
Website: https://barnabasdaru.com

    Curriculum Vitae

Evolutionary biogeography, herbarium records, phylogeny, phyloregions, vascular plants

Sharon Derrick
Sharon Derrick

Sharon Derrick, D-ABFA, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor and Forensics Coordinator

Office: TH 239
Phone: 361-825-3637
Email: sharon.derrick@tamucc.edu

    Curriculum Vitae

Donna Devlin

Donna Devlin, Ph.D.

Research Professor

Office: CS 106
Phone: 361-825-3935
Email: donna.devlin@tamucc.edu



Stella Doyungan
Stella Doyungan

Stella Doyungan, Ph.D.

Professional Associate Professor

Office: TH 232
Phone: 361-825-3686
Email: stella.doyungan@tamucc.edu

    Curriculum Vitae

Microbiology

Joe Fox
Joe Fox

Joe Fox, Ph.D.

Professor of Mariculture, Environmental Science, Coastal & Marine System Science

Office: NRC 3413
Phone: 361-825-3209
Email: joe.fox@tamucc.edu

    Curriculum Vitae

Aquatic animal nutrition, disease and physiology; nutritional ecology; crustacean biology

Simon Geist
Simon Geist

Simon Geist, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor

Office: TH 337
Phone: 361-825-4164
Email: simon.geist@tamucc.edu

    Curriculum Vitae

Early life history traits of fisheries resources: ecophysiology, ecology, recruitment-environment interactions

Xavier Fonz Gonzales
Xavier Fonz Gonzales

Xavier Fonz Gonzales, Ph.D., M.S.P.H.

Professional Assistant Professor of Biomedical Science and JAMP Faculty Director

Office: TH 235
Phone: 361-825-3824
Email: xavier.gonzales@tamucc.edu

    Curriculum Vitae

Immunology; Oncology; Endocrinology; Microbial Pathogenesis; Clinical Microbiology; Microbial Ecology; Genetics; Stress and psychological disorders on disease development

Derek Hogan
Derek Hogan

Derek Hogan, Ph.D.

Associate Professor

Office: TH 137
Phone: 361-825-5883
Email: james.hogan@tamucc.edu
Website: http://derekhoganresearch.wordpress.com

    Curriculum Vitae

Marine connectivity; larval dispersal; population ecology; population genetics

Ivy Jones

Ivy Jones, Ph.D.

Professional Assistant Professor

Office: TH 133
Phone: 361-825-3259
Email: ivy.jones@tamucc.edu



Judy Metcalf
Judy Metcalf

Judy Metcalf, Ph.D.

Professional Assistant Professor

Office: TH 133
Phone: 361-825-3959
Email: judy.metcalf@tamucc.edu

    Curriculum Vitae

Fabio Moretzsohn
Fabio Moretzsohn

Fabio Moretzsohn, Ph.D.

Professional Assistant Professor

Office: TH 333
Phone: 361-825-3477
Email: fabio.moretzsohn@tamucc.edu

    Curriculum Vitae

Marine biology, ecology, invertebrate zoology, biodiversity and conservation, molluscan biology, taxonomy, taxonomic databases, deep-sea, and citizen scientist projects.

Riccardo Mozzachiodi
Riccardo Mozzachiodi

Riccardo Mozzachiodi, Ph.D.

Associate Professor of Neuroscience

Office: TH 335
Phone: 361-825-3634
Email: riccardo.mozzachiodi@tamucc.edu

    Curriculum Vitae

Neurobiology; biological basis of learning and memory; behavior

Felix Omoruyi
Felix Omoruyi

Felix Omoruyi, Ph.D.

Associate Professor of Clinical Laboratory Science

Office: TH 238
Phone: 361-825-2473
Email: felix.omoruyi

    Curriculum Vitae

Currently, research in my laboratory is centered on the biochemical changes in the red blood cell membrane and serum in fairly and poorly controlled diabetic patients relative to healthy control.

Dara Orbach
Dara Orbach

Dara Orbach, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor of Marine Biology

Office: TH 231
Phone: 361-825-3217
Email: dara.orbach@tamucc.edu



Christopher Patrick
Christopher Patrick

Christopher Patrick, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor

Office: TH 140
Phone: 361-825-6022
Email: christopher.patrick@tamucc.edu
Website: http://patricklab.weebly.com

    Curriculum Vitae

Frank Pezold
Frank Pezold

Frank Pezold, Ph.D.

Dean and Life Sciences Professor

Office: CI 372
Phone: 361-825-2349
Email: frank.pezold@tamucc.edu
Website: http://fishlab.tamucc.edu

    Curriculum Vitae

Fish diversity, systematics, ecology and conservation

Jennifer Pollack
Jennifer Pollack

Jennifer Pollack, Ph.D.

Associate Professor of Marine Biology

Office: SL2 101
Phone: 361-825-2041
Email: jennifer.pollack@tamucc.edu
Website: http://pollacklab.tamucc.edu

    Curriculum Vitae

Field research experience in temperate salt marsh creeks, semi-arid estuaries, and polar regions

David Portnoy
David Portnoy

David Portnoy, Ph.D.

Associate Professor of Marine Biology

Office: TH 138
Phone: 361-825-2859
Email: david.portnoy@tamucc.edu
Website: http://marinegenomicslab.tamucc.edu

    Curriculum Vitae

Conservation genetics of exploited marine fishes, historical patterns of zoogeography, systematics and evolution of bony fishes and elasmobranchs, patterns of sexual selection, conflict and speciation.

Ed Proffitt
Ed Proffitt

Ed Proffitt, Ph.D.

Professor of Life Sciences

Office: TH 139
Phone: 361-825-2358
Email: ed.proffitt@tamucc.edu
Website: https://edproffitt.wixsite.com/coastal-ecology



Ecology of estuarine and marine plants and invertebrates; ecological genetics; experimental design and biometry; applying multivariate statistics to address large-scale problems

Brandi Reese
Brandi Reese

Brandi Reese, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor of Microbial Ecology

Office: SL1 105
Phone: 361-825-3022
Email: brandi.reese@tamucc.edu
Website: http://reeselab.tamucc.edu

    Curriculum Vitae

Microbial ecology, Geomicrobiology, Biogeochemistry, Molecular microbiology, Genetics, Transcriptomics, Marine deep subsurface biosphere

John Scarpa
John Scarpa

John Scarpa, Ph.D.

Associate Professor of Aquaculture

Office: TH 339
Phone: 361-825-2369
Email: john.scarpa@tamucc.edu

    Curriculum Vitae

Mariculture/Aquaculture of bivalves, crustaceans, microalgae and biomedical species (e.g., tunicates); oyster restoration and stock enhancement

Frauke Seemann
Frauke Seemann

Frauke Seemann, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor of Marine Biomedical Science

Office: TH 332
Phone: 361-825-2683
Email: frauke.seemann@tamucc.edu



Jean Sparks
Jean Sparks

Jean Sparks, Ph.D.

Associate Professor and Director of Clinical Laboratory Science

Office: TH 237
Phone: 361-825-2359
Email: jean.sparks@tamucc.edu

    Curriculum Vitae

Clinical laboratory science; hematology; botany

Greg Stunz
Greg Stunz

Greg Stunz, Ph.D.

Professor of Marine Biology and Endowed Chair for Fisheries and Ocean Health

Office: HRI 214A
Phone: 361-825-3254
Email: greg.stunz@tamucc.edu
Website: http://fisheries.tamucc.edu

    Curriculum Vitae

Marine biology, marine ecology, marine fisheries ecology, fisheries, estuarine ecology, environmental biology

Mohammed Emad Tahtamouni
Mohammed Emad Tahtamouni

Mohammed Emad Tahtamouni, Ph.D.

Professional Assistant Professor

Office: TH 132
Phone: 361-825-5819
Email: m-eamd.tahtamouni@tamucc.edu



Jeffrey Turner
Jeffrey Turner

Jeffrey Turner, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor of Marine Biology

Office: SL1 105
Phone: 361-825-6206
Email: jeffrey.turner@tamucc.edu
Website: http://turnerlab.tamucc.edu

    Curriculum Vitae

Microbial Ecology, Molecular Biology, Population Genetics, Evolution, Genomics, Metagenomics, connections between oceans and human health

Benjamin Walther
Benjamin Walther

Benjamin Walther, Ph.D.

Associate Professor of Marine Biology

Office: SL1 102
Phone: 361-825-4168
Email: benjamin.walther@tamucc.edu
Website: http://sites.google.com/site/waltherfishlab

    Curriculum Vitae

Fish migration ecology; population connectivity; habitat use; food web dynamics; carbonate chemistry

Michael Wetz
Michael Wetz

Michael Wetz, Ph.D.

Associate Professor of Marine Biology

Office: SL2 102
Phone: 361-825-2132
Email: michael.wetz@tamucc.edu

    Curriculum Vitae

Phytoplankton ecology, estuarine and coastal food webs and biogeochemical cycles, effects of climatic and anthropogenic change

Kim Withers
Kim Withers

Kim Withers, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor

Office: NRC 3205
Phone: 361-825-5907
Email: kim.withers@tamucc.edu

    Curriculum Vitae

Wei Xu
Wei Xu

Wei Xu, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor of Marine Biomedical Science

Office: TH 331
Phone: 361-825-2676
Email: wei.xu@tamucc.edu
Website: https://xulehtamucc.weebly.com

    Curriculum Vitae

Paul Zimba
Paul Zimba

Paul Zimba, Ph.D.

Professor and Director of the Center for Coastal Studies

Office: NRC 3213
Phone: 361-825-2768
Email: paul.zimba@tamucc.edu
Website: http://ccs.tamucc.edu

    Curriculum Vitae

Phytoplankton ecology and harmful algal blooms

Staff

Jessica Han

Jessica Han

Laboratory Coordinator for Life Sciences

Office: TH 210C
Phone: 361-825-3628
Email: jessica.han@tamucc.edu



Philip Jose
Philip Jose

Philip Jose

Laboratory Coordinator for Life Sciences

Office: TH 143
Phone: 361-825-5757
Email: philip.jose@tamucc.edu



Sue Vickers
Sue Vickers

Sue Vickers

Administrative Assistant for Life Sciences

Office: TH 309G
Phone: 361-825-2005
Email: sue.vickers@tamucc.edu



Sarah Wood

Sarah Wood

Administrative Assistant for Life Sciences

Office: TH 309F
Phone: 361-825-2754
Email: sarah.wood@tamucc.edu