Geospatial Computer Science

Program Coordinator

Michael Starek
Michael Starek

Michael Starek, Ph.D.

Associate Professor of Geospatial Systems Engineering

Office: NRC 3407
Phone: 361-825-3978
Email: michael.starek@tamucc.edu
Website: http://mantisresearch.org



Geospatial remote sensing and analytics, including LiDAR and UAV approaches, for study of natural and built systems with emphasis on coastal-environmental problem domains.

Faculty

Tianxing Chu
Tianxing Chu

Tianxing Chu, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor of Geographical Information Science

Office: NRC 3406
Phone: 361-825-2685
Email: tianxing.chu@tamucc.edu

    Curriculum Vitae

Luis Garcia Carrillo
Luis Garcia Carrillo

Luis Garcia Carrillo, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor of Engineering

Office: RFEB 316M
Phone: 361-825-3576
Email: luis.garcia@tamucc.edu
Website: http://faculty.tamucc.edu/lgarciacarrillo

    Curriculum Vitae

Lucy Huang
Lucy Huang

Lucy Huang, Ph.D.

Associate Professor

Office: CBI 109
Phone: 361-825-2646
Email: lucy.huang@tamucc.edu

    Curriculum Vitae

Geospatial Semantic Web development; Internet GIS; GIS in public health

Dulal Kar
Dulal Kar

Dulal Kar, Ph.D.

Professor of Computer Science

Office: CI 321
Phone: 361-825-5878
Email: dulal.kar@tamucc.edu
Website: http://faculty.tamucc.edu/dkar

    Curriculum Vitae

Signal and image processing algorithms, network architecture and performance measurement, network and information security, information retrieval, and educational technology

Scott King
Scott King

Scott King, Ph.D.

Chair of Computing Sciences and Professor of Computer Science

Office: CI 341
Phone: 361-825-5877
Email: scott.king@tamucc.edu
Website: http://faculty.tamucc.edu/sking

    Curriculum Vitae

Computer Graphics: Facial Animation and Modeling, Real-Time Graphics, Rendering, Scientific Visualization; Face-to-Face Human Computer Interaction

Longzhuang Li
Longzhuang Li

Longzhuang Li, Ph.D.

Professor of Computer Science

Office: CI 323
Phone: 361-825-2406
Email: longzhuang.li@tamucc.edu
Website: http://faculty.tamucc.edu/lli

    Curriculum Vitae

Information Retrieval on the Internet, web-based Learning, image processing

Ahmed Mahdy
Ahmed Mahdy

Ahmed Mahdy, Ph.D.

Vice President for Research and Professor of Computer Science

Office: FC 165
Phone: 361-825-3881
Email: ahmed.mahdy@tamucc.edu



Broadband Wireless Networks, Mobile Ad Hoc Networks, Sensor Networks, Optical Wireless Networks, Peer-to-Peer Networks, Software Stability, Software Architecture, Software Patterns

Antonio Medrano
Antonio Medrano

Antonio Medrano, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor of Geographical Information Science

Office: NRC 3404
Phone: 361-825-2548
Email: antonio.medrano@tamucc.edu
Website: http://antoniomedrano.github.io

    Curriculum Vitae

Combinatorial Optimization & Path Algorithms; Spatial Optimization; High Performance Computing

Dugan Um
Dugan Um

Dugan Um, Ph.D.

Associate Professor of Engineering

Office: RFEB 222C
Phone: 361-825-3381
Email: dugan.um@tamucc.edu
Website: http://faculty.tamucc.edu/duganum

    Curriculum Vitae

Hua Zhang
Hua Zhang

Hua Zhang, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor of Engineering

Office: RFEB 312
Phone: 361-825-2467
Email: hua.zhang@tamucc.edu

    Curriculum Vitae

Hydrology and Ecohydrology; Water Resources Planning and Management; Multisource Remote Sensing and GIS; Water and Soil Pollution Control; Environmental Systems Analysis; Environmental Impact Assessment; Wetland Restoration and Ecological Engineering.

Ning Zhang
Ning Zhang

Ning Zhang, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor

Office: CI 339
Email: ning.zhang@tamucc.edu
Website: http://faculty.tamucc.edu/nzhang4

    Curriculum Vitae